Scottish Shortbread IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
Excellent recipe.!!! Love it, is a keeper!!! They remind me of Christmas time in England. My husband used to buy boxes of shortbread cookies and we ate them with a cuppa of English tea in cold days. I've baked these cookies for teachers in Christmas time and they love them. I'm glad I came across this recipe they are soft and crumbly, the texture is perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny Aleman

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2014
I love making this shortbread recipe. The dough is fabulous to work with. The brown sugar adds a wonderful flavor. So much better than store bought shortbread. Absolutely no need to add a single ingredient!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2014
I love this. MMM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2014
I roll the dough out on a 10x15 rimmed pan and cut in pan and sprinkle with coarse sugar. Make these almost weekly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
I really enjoyed these cookies. So easy to make! I found that after I creamed the butter and sugar and added the recommended amount of flour, it was just not holding together well enough to roll out. I added slightly more than the recommended amount of flour with no success. I became concerned about making the cookies too floury so I did what another reviewer did. I made them into small balls and pressed them flat with a glass (to the half inch thickness recommeded or slighlty thinner). I then pricked the cookies with a fork and sprinkled some granulated sugar on top. They didn't LOOK like traditional shortbread cookies but they tasted that way. They were a huge hit with everyone who tried them. (The recipe yielded so many cookies that I had a lot of taste testers:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
This shortbread was absolutely wonderful. This took no time at all to make considering there are only three ingredients. My husband is english(we all know Scottish vs English. lol..) and he fell in love with these melt in your mouth shortbreads. Thank you so much for the recipe. I cook for over a hundred people for wednesday suppers at church and plan to make these for dessert for my next dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
My mother makes the best Scottish shortbread ever! That was until I made this recipe today. I would never have thought of using brown sugar but I'm glad I did. Thank you for this recipe as I silently sit and devour my third shortbread! And I just finished making them before school gets out so I still have time to hide them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
I added a little salt, and didn't roll out the cookies. I made the dough into a block and sliced it. They are easy and fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
Amazing, tastes great. I followed other peoples advice and with held 1/4 cup of the flour. Super easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bernadette Code-Brown

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
Absolutely perfect as written! They remind me of my Gran's!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda Kerr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Palm Bay, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 417) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Scottish Shortbread

So irresistible yet shockingly simple to make.

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States