Scottish Shortbread III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2001
I misplaced my shortbread recipe, so looked thru here and finally found it. This is the one! Both grandparents from Scotland, and Irish son-in-laws demand this cookie every Christmas. It's the best. Got this recipe originally from a church-made cookbook over 30 some years ago. Jan Weeks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2002
This is it!! I LOVE this recipe. Easy and delicious. I've been buying shortbread cookies (bar style) from a cottage industry for years just because I didn't have the recipe. This is it exactly. I had to decrease the baking time by 5 minutes, and wondered about pan size. 10" x 15" is perfect. Thanks so much!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
97 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2002
This is a fantastic shortbread cookie! Very easy, and it makes a good amount too. I love shortbread and have only bought it before, but this just got added to my Christmas cookie list.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2003
Best I've found so far in my search for the perfect shortbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clevedon, Somerset, England, U.K.
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2003
This was so easy to make (yet looks & tastes like you worked all day!) and they turned out perfectly....the cuts were very clean and nothing crumbled! I sprinkled a small amount of granulated sugar and then a small amount of red sugar (for christmas) while they were still warm...but next time, I will sprinkle the sugar on prior to baking...just a scant amount. The colored sugar really makes them look festive for the holidays! Oh...I also added about a tsp. of vanilla and a dash of salt to the dough. I will definitely make these again!!! My family is loving them, and I have also wrappped some to give away as gifts! Thumbs up!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2004
I, too, added vanilla (a bit over a tsp -- I'm bad not measuring), and actually had to decrease the baking time by 15 minutes, because the ends were browning. My husband (who would like to own stock in Walker's Shortbread) said it was better than Walker's. Thanks for a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2000
This is the best shortbread I have ever had! Wonderful!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2000
The tea experts' verdict is out...this is the BEST shortbread we've ever tried!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GTOWNPEACH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2001
I made this as a birthday treat for my Scottish Friend. She LOVED it! It reminded her of home. I will make it again! Everyone loves it and it is very easy. Thanks Lesley! Maureen
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2001
we love this recipe. It is quick, easy and delicious. We drizzle melted chocolate haphazardedly all over the shortbread, after it has cooled. We give it as gifts at holiday time, and everyone thinks it is very special.It is especially good with a cup of tea or coffee first thing in the morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Scottish Shortbread

So irresistible yet shockingly simple to make.

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States