Scottish Shortbread III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2005
If you have very little ingredients and are craving shortbread this recipe will be your new best friend. You have to like authentic shortbread, let it cool and it will firm up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2005
Very disappointing. I followed the recipe exactly, except for adding vanilla, and I don't blame that for the dry crumbly, definately not melt in your mouth texture. Little flavor even with the vanilla. Might make a good pie crust. Oh well...I'll keep looking for a good shortbread...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STORMIMAY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fountain Inn, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2005
AUTHENTIC, simple & tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2005
I made this for my son's international day at school and the kids loved it! Only the empty plate came home. It was one of those nights when your kid tells you they have to bring in an ethnic dish for school in the morning and you panic. I had almost no ingredients on hand and picked this recipe because of the ingredient list. I had low expectations because it seemed too easy to have any taste. I was wrong, they were surprisingly tasty. Thanks for saving the day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Iseult

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2004
I thought these were bland and terrible! I don't know if I did something wrong, but these were bad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2004
I read the comments and made this with 2 teaspoons of pure vanilla and 4 cups of flour. I baked it per instructions, but the final time at 300 degrees was 30 minutes instead of 40. I did not have any problem with crumbs or dryness. I cut the shortbread into finger sized pieces, cooled them thoroughly and then dipped one end in melted sweet chocolate, rolled it in crushed pecans and chilled until firm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2004
I, too, added vanilla (a bit over a tsp -- I'm bad not measuring), and actually had to decrease the baking time by 15 minutes, because the ends were browning. My husband (who would like to own stock in Walker's Shortbread) said it was better than Walker's. Thanks for a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2003
This was so easy to make (yet looks & tastes like you worked all day!) and they turned out perfectly....the cuts were very clean and nothing crumbled! I sprinkled a small amount of granulated sugar and then a small amount of red sugar (for christmas) while they were still warm...but next time, I will sprinkle the sugar on prior to baking...just a scant amount. The colored sugar really makes them look festive for the holidays! Oh...I also added about a tsp. of vanilla and a dash of salt to the dough. I will definitely make these again!!! My family is loving them, and I have also wrappped some to give away as gifts! Thumbs up!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2003
Great recipe - much like my grandmothers. I reduced the flour by 1 cup and added 1/2 tsp vanilla. Turned out less crumbly - just perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
145 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2003
Loved them. They tasted just like the mother-in-laws. She can no longer make them due to arthiris. I put sugar on top before baking only because that is how my kids are used to enjoying them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cadillac_cat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Plainfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Scottish Shortbread

So irresistible yet shockingly simple to make.

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States