Scottish Shortbread III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: May 20, 2007
Very good! I have lost my recipe givin to me many years ago. This one tastes very close to it! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aleisia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flower Mound, Texas, USA
Living In: Boerne, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2007
Yum! I used 2 c all-purpose and 2 c wheat flour because I ran out of all-purpose. I also baked mine in 2 9-inch cake pans cause I like my shortbread in rounds. Still came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Crownsville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2006
I thought this recipe was very good! I did add about a teaspoon of vanilla but otherwise followed directions exactly and it turned out great! No crumbling whatsoever. And it's a typical shortbread...not supposed to be a sweet cookie. I will make it again! The family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Conneaut, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2006
These were okay. I baked it for 30 minutes at 300 degrees since it started to brown around the edges. The cookies were soft and not fully cooked so I put it back in the oven at 250 degrees for 10-15 minutes and firmed up after it cooled. This does not have as much flavor as Walker's shortbread cookies but it's close.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2006
This is an excellent recipe. I'd lost one that was almost identical and I'm so happy to have found this. The only suggestion I have is that the directions for using your hands to "mix thoroughly" may not be specific enough for some people who don't know that meand that the dough needs to be kneaded for quite several minutes at minimum. I think some of the negatTive reviews probably came about because they didn't mix it well enough. This is a purist's type of shortbread, if that's what you're looking for. I just wanted to add that you should sift the flour first. Otherwise you get a more flour than you need, resulting in a dryer dough, which can lead to a "flour-y" taste, even with kneading. If you don't sift the flour first, then you definitely need to add less flour, maybe 1/4-1/3 cup less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patti Sano

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2006
Terrific shortbread, but I had to pull out the heavy stand mixer for a double batch. My in-laws have an annual XMas cookie bake, and my mother-in-law won't let me come unless I bring this dough to bake. I used half unsalted and half salted butter, and it had plenty of flavor for us! A real keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HELENSTRUB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochelle Park, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2006
Every year I make several batches at Xmas time. It's a great consistency and makes so much. It freezes well in ziplock bags for up to several months. The other thing I often do for a little variety is dip 1/2 of the shortbread bar into melted semisweet chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2006
Very easy to make but most other reviewers were right about the time it takes to cook being too long. I added a bit of cinnamon and vanilla for more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2005
If you have very little ingredients and are craving shortbread this recipe will be your new best friend. You have to like authentic shortbread, let it cool and it will firm up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2005
Very disappointing. I followed the recipe exactly, except for adding vanilla, and I don't blame that for the dry crumbly, definately not melt in your mouth texture. Little flavor even with the vanilla. Might make a good pie crust. Oh well...I'll keep looking for a good shortbread...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STORMIMAY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fountain Inn, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Scottish Shortbread

So irresistible yet shockingly simple to make.

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States