Scottish Shortbread III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
I have used this recipe for several years at the Skagit Highland Games at our clan's hospitality tent. People always ask for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
The first time I followed the recipe exactly, it was good but a bit too dry and done. After looking at everyone's reviews I made a few alterations and it came out perfectly. Here's the summary: -Added 2 t. of pure vanilla -Reduced flour to 4 c. -Softened the butter before mixing (I stuck with the salted) -mixed it all in the Kitchenaid -kneaded it a bit before pressing into pan -Baked @ 350 degrees for 10 min, then reduce to 300 degrees and bake for only 15-20 minutes. They have become our Christmas tradition and are like little bites of heaven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny O

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Murray, Utah, USA
Living In: Sandy, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
I spent the summer in Scotland and I wanted a recipe that would give me the shortbread I'd fallen in love with. This recipe worked beautifully. On reading the other reviews, I used salted butter and sifted the flour. It is a recipe that needs to be kneaded as another reviewer mentioned. I had no problems whatsoever after making those changes. Delicious and very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
This is a fabulous recipe. I have bought shortbread cookies from health food stores and the big name coffee shop for years and love them. I made this recipe and it came out just like the famous brand. Easy to make. I used a food processor to cream the butter and sugar. The only variations I did on this recipe was I used salted butter. I also cooked them in a glass Pyrex 9 x 13 pan taking half the dough for each pan. After kneading the dough I hand pat it into the pans and make holes in the dough with a meat fork. Baked as directed, cool two minutes, cut into bars and let cool completely as instruction in the pan. I made these for Thanksgiving and my guest who own a health food store loved them. I highly recommend this recipe. The great thing is that for the cost of a box of 9 cookies of the famous brand I get oodles of cookies...the down side...I have oodles of cookies to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
This is the best shortbread recipe that I've ever tried! I followed suggestions and reduced the flour to 4 1/2 cups and kneaded alot. We flavored with different extracts then rolled ours out and cut into 1 1/2" cookies. We reduced the end baking time by about 10 minutes. They were great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
I am not particularly found of shortbread, but I needed a Scottish recipe for a school project and this looked easy. It turned out perfectly, and I thought it tasted very good. I used 4 cups of flour instead of 5 and used 1/2 unsalted butter and half salted butter. I sprinkled the top with colored sugar before baking. The taste surprised me so much that I might make these again for Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
These taste like the Scottish shortbreads you get out of a can. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by barncat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
This is wonderful. I gave some to friends and daughter. Everyone raved over it. One problem!!!! Hubby and I are addicted. Thanks for a great recipe. Elaine
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kashmirkat
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
I read the reviews (as always) before using this recipe. I have a shortbread stone pan that I hadn't used in a while and decided to make some shortbread today. I cut the recipe in half and followed the baking instructions for the stone pan (350 for about 30 minutes); I used salted butter and added just a dash of vanilla. I felt the recipe had just the right balance of crumbliness for a homemade shortbread. I used my kitchenaid mixer and sifted the flour (2 cups, which became almost 2 1/2 cups once sifted), then took it out and actually used additional flour as I kneaded the dough - it was sticky at first until I added flour, so I think in the end I used pretty much the 2 1/2 cups the recipe called for - or pretty close to it, so I'm not sure why some seemed to use less. Anyway, the final product was delicious. I also added a photo (though it's a little dark...)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kashmirkat
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
I cut the recipe in half, used half salted butter and half unsalted butter and added a smidge of vanilla. Also cut the cooking time by a good 15 minutes; not sure if this is because of cutting the recipe in half or if maybe my oven runs hot but the full 50 minutes would have burnt them. Anyway, they came out delicious and my two year old and I risked burnt mouths eating them before they had even cooled. Will probably dip some in chocolate once they have cooled, just to try that out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Scottish Shortbread

So irresistible yet shockingly simple to make.

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States