Scottish Shortbread III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
Gave 4 stars as written. Was 5 with my changes: used about a cup less flour (maybe 4 1/4 cups total) and added a tsp vanilla. Perfect! Makes a good amount too, which is nice since these are a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
I only use 4 1/2c flour, but I suppose the additional 1/2c would be fine. Sooo goood. Sooo gooood!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
I love the simplicity of this recipe! I have always made them and found these can be a blank canvas: You can add pecans for pecan sandies; fresh orange peel for a citrusy good shortcake; dipped in melted chocolate...But my personal favorite is the simple shortbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sukeyblueskin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomfield, New York, USA
Living In: Paris, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
I too am thrilled that I found this recipie, my gram use to make these for us all the time. If you decrease the flour and add vanilla it is simly not shortbread! My gram was a baker and her trick was to throughly blend the soft butter and suger, and add swifted flour one cup at a time. Flour to be mixed by hand, the less you worked the dough the flakery the cookie. I seem to remember them being stored in a tin, with wax paper.Plus my 32 year old daughter loves them and say there better than the r.r. recipie that she had made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
Thank you for this lovely recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
We made this recipe this afternoon and loved it!! We followed the recommendation to only use four cups of flour and it was a hit! Thanks for sharing this wonderful recipe. My wife took one bite and said . . . these are grandma's cookies!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2012
I made three different recipes in one night to compare and this one was my favorite. Before it had cooled completely, it seemed too chewy and didn't have the right texture, but the next morning they were perfect. A little sweeter than the others I tried and closest to what I remember from my trip to Scotland. The only major change I made was to the cooking time - I only baked them about 25 minutes at the lower temp. Just watched them closely until they started to brown on the edges. You just want them barely not white.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
great recipe...very close to my own mother's who is also off the boat from Scotland...but to make it truly SCOTTISH shortbread you need to add cornmeal...instead of all flour do 3.25 cups flour and 1.75 cups cornmeal...adds texture...a world of difference! But still a great simple recipe thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
These are wonderful! I've adjusted though a bit...I use 3/4c brown sugar and 1/4c white sugar. I also added 3 tsp almond extract and reduced the flour by 1 cup. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
Lovely!!! If youare finding that you need to add vanilla, then use salted butter instead. These cookies shouldn't need any flavouring at all as the sugar and butter should stand on its own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Antha

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Scottish Shortbread

So irresistible yet shockingly simple to make.

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States