Scottish Shortbread III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
I must say I tried. I always make shortbread cookies for Christmas, but I lost my old time recipe so reading the reviews I thought I would give it a try. I started with one batch, following the recipe to the T. The cookies came out undone so I had to bake it for another 10 min. The final result was very greasy cookies that had a strong taste of flour. Second batch sifted the flour as other reviewers said and baked it longer. The cookies were overdone and I was surprised at how quickly they browned up comparing to the first batch. I can not believe this is the same recipe everyone is raving about. I followed the recipe and did not modify anything and still the result was terrible. I'm now looking for another recipe to try, as I promised family and friends the famous shortbread cookies for Christmas. Extremely disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bianca West

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
Great recipe! After reading reviews I decided to morf it a little. Doubling all ingredients plus adding an extra 1/3 c sugar, 1tsp pure vanilla extract, and 8 egg yolks for added richness...after all if your going to indulge just go for it! I used 1 lb each of cold salted and unsalted butter cut into 1cmx3cm cubes for creaming with sugar then adding yolks, then flour one third at a time. Cut dough in two and rolled it out right inside cookie sheet lined with parchment to about 1/3" thickness. I have convection oven soon as in oven dropped temp from 350F to 275 and convection bake for 40 mins. Brought them out and cut after 2 mins. After cooled separated into two containers. I laid in one a cheesecloth dampened with almond extract over top of cookies, the other with rum extract. Sealed them for 3 days. Came out to excellent reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Greg Hayhurst

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
this recipe is fantastic. A friend of mine is always buying Walkers Shortbread cookies, so I started looking for a recipe, the ingredients match the listed ingredients on Walkers label. It was easy to make. I've had nothing but positive comments from anyone who has tried them(including my and her Scottish spouse). I did shorten the cooking time by 10 minutes because I was in a hurry, I think if I had let cook the additional 10 minutes, they would be to dry and crumbly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2014
I loved this recipe! I reduced the flour by one cup, and it was delicious! The smell of the bars baking was amazing and the bars were best right out of the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jane Doe

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
This is a very authentic recipe. I use 1/2 lb salted & 1/2 lb unsalted and it tastes exactly like my grandmother's. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by krissy
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
This is a super recipe...my husbands family is scottish....this is a true recipe for shortbread! Use your hands to mix/knead well. Perfect recipe just the way it is ...did not have unsalted butter so i used salted. Yummmy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by krissy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sneads Ferry, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
I tried this recipe tonight and loved it. I followed suggestions of others and only used 4 cups of flour. The consistency of the dough was perfect. I rolled them into balls and used cookie presses to flatten them out, then baked for less time. Delicious! I may try to add a little bit of vanilla or almond flavoring the next time I make this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
I've been using this recipe for about 3 years and it's probably the only one I will use again. I always add a sprinkling of white sugar as it is cooling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
Delicious! I halved the recipe since I didn't want to be tempted with too many extras. I kept all proportions the same, and didn't think it was too much flour at all. It depends on humidity, etc, so use your best judgment. My dough was the consistency of a loose chocolate chip cookie dough, but it turned out just fine. I added 3/4 Tbsp of minced fresh rosemary, and sprinkled artisan salt on top. Simply amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2013
I have been baking for years and made this shortbread. This is definitely some good stuff. Bravo !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnielee Saccucci

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Swansea, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Clermont, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Scottish Shortbread

So irresistible yet shockingly simple to make.

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States