Scottish Shortbread III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2003
Great recipe - much like my grandmothers. I reduced the flour by 1 cup and added 1/2 tsp vanilla. Turned out less crumbly - just perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
139 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2002
This is it!! I LOVE this recipe. Easy and delicious. I've been buying shortbread cookies (bar style) from a cottage industry for years just because I didn't have the recipe. This is it exactly. I had to decrease the baking time by 5 minutes, and wondered about pan size. 10" x 15" is perfect. Thanks so much!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2002
My husband's golf shop had a Christmas Open House. Our theme was "Scottish". We had a bagpiper who is currently the world after winning a competition in Scotland. I made this shortbread and he said it was the best he had ever eaten! He took a plate of it home with him. There was also a couple from England. They agreed it was the best they had ever eaten. Easy to make and it got rave reviews from our guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2006
This is an excellent recipe. I'd lost one that was almost identical and I'm so happy to have found this. The only suggestion I have is that the directions for using your hands to "mix thoroughly" may not be specific enough for some people who don't know that meand that the dough needs to be kneaded for quite several minutes at minimum. I think some of the negatTive reviews probably came about because they didn't mix it well enough. This is a purist's type of shortbread, if that's what you're looking for. I just wanted to add that you should sift the flour first. Otherwise you get a more flour than you need, resulting in a dryer dough, which can lead to a "flour-y" taste, even with kneading. If you don't sift the flour first, then you definitely need to add less flour, maybe 1/4-1/3 cup less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
I have made one batch of this recipe and I was not impressed. I spoke with my second mom (best friend's Mom) who is Scottish and she laughed at this recipe. Half salted and half unsalted butter is the way to go, according to her. And 5 cups of flour is way too much and to go with 4 to 41/2 cups to get the right consistancy. The next time I will do it her way since it was her's I was trying to replicate. She also said that the baking pan wasn't big enough and should be no more than 3/4 of an inch thick. Next time I'll roll it out instead of making bars...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2004
I read the comments and made this with 2 teaspoons of pure vanilla and 4 cups of flour. I baked it per instructions, but the final time at 300 degrees was 30 minutes instead of 40. I did not have any problem with crumbs or dryness. I cut the shortbread into finger sized pieces, cooled them thoroughly and then dipped one end in melted sweet chocolate, rolled it in crushed pecans and chilled until firm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2007
I would give this five stars after some additions. I added a touch of vanilla. I halved the recipe,used 1 stick of unsalted butter and 1 stick of salted butter. I also used 1/2 white sugar and 1/2 powdered sugar. (Also upped the sugar by a 1/4) I baked it in a square Pyrex pan for the recommended time and it is wonderful. I am waiting to see what the texture is once it has cooled completely, but right now it is flakey and melt-in-your-mouth yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2001
I misplaced my shortbread recipe, so looked thru here and finally found it. This is the one! Both grandparents from Scotland, and Irish son-in-laws demand this cookie every Christmas. It's the best. Got this recipe originally from a church-made cookbook over 30 some years ago. Jan Weeks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2003
This was so easy to make (yet looks & tastes like you worked all day!) and they turned out perfectly....the cuts were very clean and nothing crumbled! I sprinkled a small amount of granulated sugar and then a small amount of red sugar (for christmas) while they were still warm...but next time, I will sprinkle the sugar on prior to baking...just a scant amount. The colored sugar really makes them look festive for the holidays! Oh...I also added about a tsp. of vanilla and a dash of salt to the dough. I will definitely make these again!!! My family is loving them, and I have also wrappped some to give away as gifts! Thumbs up!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2003
Best I've found so far in my search for the perfect shortbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clevedon, Somerset, England, U.K.
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Scottish Shortbread

So irresistible yet shockingly simple to make.

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States