Scottish Shortbread III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2000
This is the best shortbread I have ever had! Wonderful!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2000
The tea experts' verdict is out...this is the BEST shortbread we've ever tried!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GTOWNPEACH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2001
I made this as a birthday treat for my Scottish Friend. She LOVED it! It reminded her of home. I will make it again! Everyone loves it and it is very easy. Thanks Lesley! Maureen
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2001
Great traditional shortbread! It is best when you allow it to sit for a day. A splash of almond or vanilla makes it even more yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2001
I misplaced my shortbread recipe, so looked thru here and finally found it. This is the one! Both grandparents from Scotland, and Irish son-in-laws demand this cookie every Christmas. It's the best. Got this recipe originally from a church-made cookbook over 30 some years ago. Jan Weeks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2001
we love this recipe. It is quick, easy and delicious. We drizzle melted chocolate haphazardedly all over the shortbread, after it has cooled. We give it as gifts at holiday time, and everyone thinks it is very special.It is especially good with a cup of tea or coffee first thing in the morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2002
This is it!! I LOVE this recipe. Easy and delicious. I've been buying shortbread cookies (bar style) from a cottage industry for years just because I didn't have the recipe. This is it exactly. I had to decrease the baking time by 5 minutes, and wondered about pan size. 10" x 15" is perfect. Thanks so much!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2002
I have now made this recipe multiple times. Each time the shortbread is too tough and crumbly for my taste, even when I reduced the amount of flour a bit and baked it for a shorter amount of time. I think the problem is that it takes a really long time for my oven to cool down form 350 degrees to 300 degrees--which means the shortbread is basicaly cooking at 350 the entire time. I might try this one more time, reducing the flour by half a cup and baking at 300 degrees the entire time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by losangeles71

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greenfield, Indiana, USA
Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2002
My husband's golf shop had a Christmas Open House. Our theme was "Scottish". We had a bagpiper who is currently the world after winning a competition in Scotland. I made this shortbread and he said it was the best he had ever eaten! He took a plate of it home with him. There was also a couple from England. They agreed it was the best they had ever eaten. Easy to make and it got rave reviews from our guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2002
Excellent shortbread... I modified the recipe for my needs though.. so I added some cinnamon and a little vanilla and then dipped the bars in a orange, mango & rum truffle mixture that would firm up enough to make balls no matter what I did! If I was using this recipe for something other than what I did.. i.e. having the shortbread plain w/out chocolate, etc, I would personally add more sugar and make it 1 1/2-2c. sugar & then adjust the flour accordingly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Scottish Shortbread

So irresistible yet shockingly simple to make.

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States