Scottish Shortbread III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2004
I, too, added vanilla (a bit over a tsp -- I'm bad not measuring), and actually had to decrease the baking time by 15 minutes, because the ends were browning. My husband (who would like to own stock in Walker's Shortbread) said it was better than Walker's. Thanks for a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2003
This was so easy to make (yet looks & tastes like you worked all day!) and they turned out perfectly....the cuts were very clean and nothing crumbled! I sprinkled a small amount of granulated sugar and then a small amount of red sugar (for christmas) while they were still warm...but next time, I will sprinkle the sugar on prior to baking...just a scant amount. The colored sugar really makes them look festive for the holidays! Oh...I also added about a tsp. of vanilla and a dash of salt to the dough. I will definitely make these again!!! My family is loving them, and I have also wrappped some to give away as gifts! Thumbs up!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2003
Great recipe - much like my grandmothers. I reduced the flour by 1 cup and added 1/2 tsp vanilla. Turned out less crumbly - just perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
139 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2003
Loved them. They tasted just like the mother-in-laws. She can no longer make them due to arthiris. I put sugar on top before baking only because that is how my kids are used to enjoying them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cadillac_cat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Plainfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2003
Best I've found so far in my search for the perfect shortbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clevedon, Somerset, England, U.K.
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2002
This is a fantastic shortbread cookie! Very easy, and it makes a good amount too. I love shortbread and have only bought it before, but this just got added to my Christmas cookie list.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2002
this was tough thick cookie and I think it had too much flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2002
Excellent shortbread... I modified the recipe for my needs though.. so I added some cinnamon and a little vanilla and then dipped the bars in a orange, mango & rum truffle mixture that would firm up enough to make balls no matter what I did! If I was using this recipe for something other than what I did.. i.e. having the shortbread plain w/out chocolate, etc, I would personally add more sugar and make it 1 1/2-2c. sugar & then adjust the flour accordingly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2002
My husband's golf shop had a Christmas Open House. Our theme was "Scottish". We had a bagpiper who is currently the world after winning a competition in Scotland. I made this shortbread and he said it was the best he had ever eaten! He took a plate of it home with him. There was also a couple from England. They agreed it was the best they had ever eaten. Easy to make and it got rave reviews from our guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2002
I have now made this recipe multiple times. Each time the shortbread is too tough and crumbly for my taste, even when I reduced the amount of flour a bit and baked it for a shorter amount of time. I think the problem is that it takes a really long time for my oven to cool down form 350 degrees to 300 degrees--which means the shortbread is basicaly cooking at 350 the entire time. I might try this one more time, reducing the flour by half a cup and baking at 300 degrees the entire time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by losangeles71

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greenfield, Indiana, USA
Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Scottish Shortbread

So irresistible yet shockingly simple to make.

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States