Scottish Shortbread III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by kepi
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
This came out perfect! The texture was great and it was flaky and delicious. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kepi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
I've long searched for the perfect Scottish shortbread recipe, and I've finally found it! Thank you for sharing your mother's recipe with us. It's the best ever and so easy to make. I did learn not to pile it high in my shortbread mold - the thinner, the better the texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
Great! Easy & yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
worst recipe ever. this must be some kind of joke. tastes like flour, doesnt hold up at all (think pie crust before adding the liquid) and burnt with 10 minutes still remaining in the cooking time! followed it exactly. my advice for anyone who has any idea what proper shortbread should taste like: DO NOT USE THIS RECIPE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NeonVampireChef

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Red Deer, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
Fantastic shortbread recipe. Used 4 cups flour, 1/2 salted, 1/2 unsalted butter and tsp vanilla. dipped ends in white and dark chocolate. After tasting,I made a second batch with just sugar sprinled on top for those like me who like straight up shortbread. I will use this recipe again and again, Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
My mom is also from Scotland and I pulled this recipe because I couldn't find mine. The only difference is the flour. I'm sure that back in the day everyone had their own way but my mom uses 3 1/2 and adds small amounts up to 4 cups just until the consistency is right. She said the key here is using soft butter, not melted, and pressing it with your hands because the heat of them makes the butter just right. She also uses a cookie sheet to get the right thickness. It should turn out crisp and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
Not sure what - but somethings missing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Colette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
Very good! Like other reviewers, I cut back on the flour and added a little vanilla. I also drizzled melted chocolate on top of the baked shortbread. I took this to a party, and they were promptly devoured!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Loki1

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
I cannot believe I waited until now to make shortbread cookies, and WOW! Am I glad I found this recipe! I was looking for a festive, but nut-free cookie for my allergic grandson and came across this. I followed some of the other reviewers advice, and added only 4 1/2 cups of flour, and decorated with red and green sprinkles before baking for our Christmas party. (I hope I don't eat them all before tonight!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winthrop Harbor, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
This shortbread is delightful and delicious! The wonderfully rich and buttery flavor is a favorite among my family and friends who request it every year. I especially like the fact that this shortbread bar does not need to be rolled out, as my rolling pin skills are somewhat lacking LOL ;). This recipe is a genuine keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Scottish Shortbread

So irresistible yet shockingly simple to make.

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States