Scottish Shortbread III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
These taste like the Scottish shortbreads you get out of a can. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by barncat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
This is wonderful. I gave some to friends and daughter. Everyone raved over it. One problem!!!! Hubby and I are addicted. Thanks for a great recipe. Elaine
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kashmirkat
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
I read the reviews (as always) before using this recipe. I have a shortbread stone pan that I hadn't used in a while and decided to make some shortbread today. I cut the recipe in half and followed the baking instructions for the stone pan (350 for about 30 minutes); I used salted butter and added just a dash of vanilla. I felt the recipe had just the right balance of crumbliness for a homemade shortbread. I used my kitchenaid mixer and sifted the flour (2 cups, which became almost 2 1/2 cups once sifted), then took it out and actually used additional flour as I kneaded the dough - it was sticky at first until I added flour, so I think in the end I used pretty much the 2 1/2 cups the recipe called for - or pretty close to it, so I'm not sure why some seemed to use less. Anyway, the final product was delicious. I also added a photo (though it's a little dark...)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kashmirkat
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
I cut the recipe in half, used half salted butter and half unsalted butter and added a smidge of vanilla. Also cut the cooking time by a good 15 minutes; not sure if this is because of cutting the recipe in half or if maybe my oven runs hot but the full 50 minutes would have burnt them. Anyway, they came out delicious and my two year old and I risked burnt mouths eating them before they had even cooled. Will probably dip some in chocolate once they have cooled, just to try that out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fatuglyrhino

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
I will never buy store bought shortbread again! I agree that sifting the flour made a huge difference and kneading for several minutes as well to ensire blending. I think these lasted all of about 5 minutes at home as well as teh 2 parties I've taken them to! Bravo
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cally

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hagerstown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2010
WOW!!! This is fantastic authentic shortbread. You do need to work the flour in with your hands and make sure you sift it before adding. These are worth the trouble!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by akppsu

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2010
Addictive!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kepi
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
This came out perfect! The texture was great and it was flaky and delicious. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kepi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
I've long searched for the perfect Scottish shortbread recipe, and I've finally found it! Thank you for sharing your mother's recipe with us. It's the best ever and so easy to make. I did learn not to pile it high in my shortbread mold - the thinner, the better the texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
Great! Easy & yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Scottish Shortbread

So irresistible yet shockingly simple to make.

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States