Scottish Shortbread III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
Very easy to make, and very tasty! I read many of the other reviews, and tried a few tips I read from others. I used 4 cups of sifted flour, 3 sticks of unsalted butter, and one stick of light butter (I wanted to try 1/2 salted and 1/2 unsalted, but the light was all I had). I added 1/2 tsp of vanilla and about 3/4 tsp salt. I put it in a 9x13 pan, and the finished product is about 3/4 inches thick. I sprinkled yellow colored sugar on top before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
This is a fantastic recipe!!! I made a few modifications as follows: Used 4 cups flour Used 2 - 9x13 glass pans Sprinked sugar on the finished shortbreads before cutting. It make a big batch - I had to get them out of the house before I ate a whole pound of butter!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
This was my first time to both make and eat shortbread and it turned out great! It turned out a bit on the crumbly side, but I think that may have been me not kneading thoroughly enough. I halved the recipe exactly, but after reading the reviews, I think next time I will use a little less flour. I also cooked it on 300 degrees F for about 30 minutes instead of the recommended 40, so next time I'll try taking off a few minutes as well. Very good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Meridian, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2011
I made cookies from this recipe, used molds and baked a shorter time, about 18 minutes, but still too long, were too brown. Will try 10-12 minutes for small cookies next time. Dipped the tops in melted chocolate, a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherry Weddle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Watford City, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
I come from England and was raised on delicious Scottish shortbread. Since moving to the USA, I have been unable to find any that tastes anything like what I'm used to. I decided that the only option was to try making my own, and I found this recipe. I have to say this is easily the best shortbread I have tasted in a long time and is probably as good as the bought shortbread I used to eat in England. The recipe is so easy, I wish I had started making my own years ago. There really is very little you can do wrong with this recipe and very little that needs to be changed. I added a little salt and reduced the flour by about half a cup - I used my initiative and stopped adding it when the consistency seemed to be right. Everybody who has tried this loves it and it never lasts more than a day. I'm so glad I found this recipe. Many thanks to the poster.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mountain Home, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
This was a little to dry and crumbly for me but it is delicious, I just finished my second piece. The next time I think I'll use 4 1/2 cups of flour. I added 1 tsp of vanilla and loved the fact that this recipe made a half sheet pan. I cut it up into 24 bars, I don't like small anything when it comes to desserts, cookies, pastries, etc. This would go great topped with some Meyer lemon curd and good sized dollop of freshly made whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
SUPER RECIPE!!!! Taste and texture were exactly what I wanted, and the recipe was amazingly easy with a huge yield. Thanks to the sender!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
Very easy & came out perfect - I halved the recipe and made it with 1 cup salted butter, softened, then added 1/2 cup sugar and creamed it for a few mins until light & fluffy. Added 2 cups of flour & then dumped it on a floured board. I kneaded it for a couple mins then put the whole lump on the cookie sheet and just patted it into a big square. Pricked it all over then put it in a 350 oven for 10 mins then 300 for 25 mins more, as suggested by other reviewers. I gave it as a gift to my friend who is Scotish & immigrated here to the states just a few years ago. He told me it was the best shortbread he has ever tasted!! Coming from an authentic Scotsman that says a lot! This recipe is a total keeper. Thanks so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
FANTASTIC! this scot/irish boy is impressed, but i did sub the unsalted for salted because that's what i had. will be making this as a tradition for Christmases to come. hell just any old time.. but it is officially part of my families Christmas. TY Lesley
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brilliant, Ohio, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
I made two batches, one as per the instructions, one with vanilla & cinnamon added. Both received rave reviews from friends and family alike!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tonia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Scottish Shortbread

So irresistible yet shockingly simple to make.

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States