Scottish Shortbread III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2006
This is an excellent recipe. I'd lost one that was almost identical and I'm so happy to have found this. The only suggestion I have is that the directions for using your hands to "mix thoroughly" may not be specific enough for some people who don't know that meand that the dough needs to be kneaded for quite several minutes at minimum. I think some of the negatTive reviews probably came about because they didn't mix it well enough. This is a purist's type of shortbread, if that's what you're looking for. I just wanted to add that you should sift the flour first. Otherwise you get a more flour than you need, resulting in a dryer dough, which can lead to a "flour-y" taste, even with kneading. If you don't sift the flour first, then you definitely need to add less flour, maybe 1/4-1/3 cup less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2006
Terrific shortbread, but I had to pull out the heavy stand mixer for a double batch. My in-laws have an annual XMas cookie bake, and my mother-in-law won't let me come unless I bring this dough to bake. I used half unsalted and half salted butter, and it had plenty of flavor for us! A real keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HELENSTRUB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochelle Park, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2006
Every year I make several batches at Xmas time. It's a great consistency and makes so much. It freezes well in ziplock bags for up to several months. The other thing I often do for a little variety is dip 1/2 of the shortbread bar into melted semisweet chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2006
Very easy to make but most other reviewers were right about the time it takes to cook being too long. I added a bit of cinnamon and vanilla for more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2005
If you have very little ingredients and are craving shortbread this recipe will be your new best friend. You have to like authentic shortbread, let it cool and it will firm up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2005
Very disappointing. I followed the recipe exactly, except for adding vanilla, and I don't blame that for the dry crumbly, definately not melt in your mouth texture. Little flavor even with the vanilla. Might make a good pie crust. Oh well...I'll keep looking for a good shortbread...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STORMIMAY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fountain Inn, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2005
AUTHENTIC, simple & tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2005
I made this for my son's international day at school and the kids loved it! Only the empty plate came home. It was one of those nights when your kid tells you they have to bring in an ethnic dish for school in the morning and you panic. I had almost no ingredients on hand and picked this recipe because of the ingredient list. I had low expectations because it seemed too easy to have any taste. I was wrong, they were surprisingly tasty. Thanks for saving the day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Iseult

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2004
I thought these were bland and terrible! I don't know if I did something wrong, but these were bad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2004
I read the comments and made this with 2 teaspoons of pure vanilla and 4 cups of flour. I baked it per instructions, but the final time at 300 degrees was 30 minutes instead of 40. I did not have any problem with crumbs or dryness. I cut the shortbread into finger sized pieces, cooled them thoroughly and then dipped one end in melted sweet chocolate, rolled it in crushed pecans and chilled until firm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Scottish Shortbread

So irresistible yet shockingly simple to make.

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States