Scottish Shortbread III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 15, 2008
My daughters made this for my husband while he was deployed. He loves shortbread. My girls were worried about it keeping through travel but it made it there just fine. From what he says it came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pocatello, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2008
Tastes just as good, if not better, than the store-bought stuff. It's incredibly easy and comes out perfect every time. Wonderful plain or with some "extras" thrown in to vary the flavor. So far I've experimented with candied lemon peel/crystallized ginger (blended up into a paste and added with the butter), crushed pecans (added to the dry ingredients), and a cashew/almond/cranberry trail mix (added to the dry ingredients). Tastes awesome any way you make it. Thanks so much for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
I could've sworn my printed copy of this recipe says 3 cups of flour? Anyway, I make it with 4 cups of flour and it's perfect! Gets rave reviews all the time. I also use salted butter as I think it's too bland if there's no salt in the recipe at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
I love these cookies. They smelled so mouth watering delicious when baking . I had to sneak one when it was time to cut them . I used to buy the ones from Scottland, that will be a rare thing now. Thank you for submitting this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula L'amoreaux-Welch

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hunlock Creek, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Dallas, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
I have made one batch of this recipe and I was not impressed. I spoke with my second mom (best friend's Mom) who is Scottish and she laughed at this recipe. Half salted and half unsalted butter is the way to go, according to her. And 5 cups of flour is way too much and to go with 4 to 41/2 cups to get the right consistancy. The next time I will do it her way since it was her's I was trying to replicate. She also said that the baking pan wasn't big enough and should be no more than 3/4 of an inch thick. Next time I'll roll it out instead of making bars...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
I love this recipe. Three ingredients and a yummy shortbread. Thanks for an easy and delicious recipe. I make it often for family gatherings (it makes plenty).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soifua

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kahuku, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SIT_BUDDY
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2007
SO EASY! I opted with the stand mixer and really whipped the butter and sugar before adding the flour. It came together wonderfully and simply patted it into the parchment lined pan. I also added a little almond extract. I thought the cookies wouldn't be sweet enough, but after tasting a few and especially with tea...they were perfectly sweetened. If I needed a sweeter treat, I would probably dip in chocolate. They went over well at the food tasting that I took them to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upland, California, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2007
This is a very good shortbread recipe! I followed the directions exactly this time, next time I will add some vanilla and a little more sugar to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2007
Just like great gramma used to make :) I forgot to prick the shortbread before baking and it dodn't seem to matter much. I also sprinkled a little sugar on top as soon as it came out of the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OHYUMMERS!

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Camano Island, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2007
This shortbread is excellent!!!!! My best friend and I ate this up (since my family doesn't really care for shortbread). This is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bmonkey18

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Scottish Shortbread

So irresistible yet shockingly simple to make.

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States