Scottish Shortbread III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
Very good! Like other reviewers, I cut back on the flour and added a little vanilla. I also drizzled melted chocolate on top of the baked shortbread. I took this to a party, and they were promptly devoured!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Loki1

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
I cannot believe I waited until now to make shortbread cookies, and WOW! Am I glad I found this recipe! I was looking for a festive, but nut-free cookie for my allergic grandson and came across this. I followed some of the other reviewers advice, and added only 4 1/2 cups of flour, and decorated with red and green sprinkles before baking for our Christmas party. (I hope I don't eat them all before tonight!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winthrop Harbor, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
This shortbread is delightful and delicious! The wonderfully rich and buttery flavor is a favorite among my family and friends who request it every year. I especially like the fact that this shortbread bar does not need to be rolled out, as my rolling pin skills are somewhat lacking LOL ;). This recipe is a genuine keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2008
Absolutely delicious. The most authentic tasting Scottish shortbread recipe that I've seen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Missy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wenatchee, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by whodunitrdr
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2008
Excellent shortbread, rich and buttery tasting. It is one of my favorite cookies to make for receptions and buffets and I always get asked for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by whodunitrdr

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wenatchee, Washington, USA
Living In: Bellingham, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 15, 2008
My daughters made this for my husband while he was deployed. He loves shortbread. My girls were worried about it keeping through travel but it made it there just fine. From what he says it came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pocatello, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2008
Tastes just as good, if not better, than the store-bought stuff. It's incredibly easy and comes out perfect every time. Wonderful plain or with some "extras" thrown in to vary the flavor. So far I've experimented with candied lemon peel/crystallized ginger (blended up into a paste and added with the butter), crushed pecans (added to the dry ingredients), and a cashew/almond/cranberry trail mix (added to the dry ingredients). Tastes awesome any way you make it. Thanks so much for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
I could've sworn my printed copy of this recipe says 3 cups of flour? Anyway, I make it with 4 cups of flour and it's perfect! Gets rave reviews all the time. I also use salted butter as I think it's too bland if there's no salt in the recipe at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
I love these cookies. They smelled so mouth watering delicious when baking . I had to sneak one when it was time to cut them . I used to buy the ones from Scottland, that will be a rare thing now. Thank you for submitting this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hunlock Creek, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Dallas, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
I have made one batch of this recipe and I was not impressed. I spoke with my second mom (best friend's Mom) who is Scottish and she laughed at this recipe. Half salted and half unsalted butter is the way to go, according to her. And 5 cups of flour is way too much and to go with 4 to 41/2 cups to get the right consistancy. The next time I will do it her way since it was her's I was trying to replicate. She also said that the baking pan wasn't big enough and should be no more than 3/4 of an inch thick. Next time I'll roll it out instead of making bars...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Scottish Shortbread

So irresistible yet shockingly simple to make.

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States