Scottish Shortbread III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
Fantastic shortbread recipe. Used 4 cups flour, 1/2 salted, 1/2 unsalted butter and tsp vanilla. dipped ends in white and dark chocolate. After tasting,I made a second batch with just sugar sprinled on top for those like me who like straight up shortbread. I will use this recipe again and again, Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
My mom is also from Scotland and I pulled this recipe because I couldn't find mine. The only difference is the flour. I'm sure that back in the day everyone had their own way but my mom uses 3 1/2 and adds small amounts up to 4 cups just until the consistency is right. She said the key here is using soft butter, not melted, and pressing it with your hands because the heat of them makes the butter just right. She also uses a cookie sheet to get the right thickness. It should turn out crisp and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
Not sure what - but somethings missing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Colette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
Very good! Like other reviewers, I cut back on the flour and added a little vanilla. I also drizzled melted chocolate on top of the baked shortbread. I took this to a party, and they were promptly devoured!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Loki1

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
I cannot believe I waited until now to make shortbread cookies, and WOW! Am I glad I found this recipe! I was looking for a festive, but nut-free cookie for my allergic grandson and came across this. I followed some of the other reviewers advice, and added only 4 1/2 cups of flour, and decorated with red and green sprinkles before baking for our Christmas party. (I hope I don't eat them all before tonight!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winthrop Harbor, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
This shortbread is delightful and delicious! The wonderfully rich and buttery flavor is a favorite among my family and friends who request it every year. I especially like the fact that this shortbread bar does not need to be rolled out, as my rolling pin skills are somewhat lacking LOL ;). This recipe is a genuine keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2008
Absolutely delicious. The most authentic tasting Scottish shortbread recipe that I've seen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Missy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wenatchee, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by whodunitrdr
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2008
Excellent shortbread, rich and buttery tasting. It is one of my favorite cookies to make for receptions and buffets and I always get asked for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by whodunitrdr

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wenatchee, Washington, USA
Living In: Bellingham, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 15, 2008
My daughters made this for my husband while he was deployed. He loves shortbread. My girls were worried about it keeping through travel but it made it there just fine. From what he says it came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pocatello, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2008
Tastes just as good, if not better, than the store-bought stuff. It's incredibly easy and comes out perfect every time. Wonderful plain or with some "extras" thrown in to vary the flavor. So far I've experimented with candied lemon peel/crystallized ginger (blended up into a paste and added with the butter), crushed pecans (added to the dry ingredients), and a cashew/almond/cranberry trail mix (added to the dry ingredients). Tastes awesome any way you make it. Thanks so much for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Scottish Shortbread

So irresistible yet shockingly simple to make.

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States