Scottish Shortbread III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
I too am thrilled that I found this recipie, my gram use to make these for us all the time. If you decrease the flour and add vanilla it is simly not shortbread! My gram was a baker and her trick was to throughly blend the soft butter and suger, and add swifted flour one cup at a time. Flour to be mixed by hand, the less you worked the dough the flakery the cookie. I seem to remember them being stored in a tin, with wax paper.Plus my 32 year old daughter loves them and say there better than the r.r. recipie that she had made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
Thank you for this lovely recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
We made this recipe this afternoon and loved it!! We followed the recommendation to only use four cups of flour and it was a hit! Thanks for sharing this wonderful recipe. My wife took one bite and said . . . these are grandma's cookies!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2012
I made three different recipes in one night to compare and this one was my favorite. Before it had cooled completely, it seemed too chewy and didn't have the right texture, but the next morning they were perfect. A little sweeter than the others I tried and closest to what I remember from my trip to Scotland. The only major change I made was to the cooking time - I only baked them about 25 minutes at the lower temp. Just watched them closely until they started to brown on the edges. You just want them barely not white.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
great recipe...very close to my own mother's who is also off the boat from Scotland...but to make it truly SCOTTISH shortbread you need to add cornmeal...instead of all flour do 3.25 cups flour and 1.75 cups cornmeal...adds texture...a world of difference! But still a great simple recipe thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
These are wonderful! I've adjusted though a bit...I use 3/4c brown sugar and 1/4c white sugar. I also added 3 tsp almond extract and reduced the flour by 1 cup. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
Lovely!!! If youare finding that you need to add vanilla, then use salted butter instead. These cookies shouldn't need any flavouring at all as the sugar and butter should stand on its own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Antha

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
Very easy to make, and very tasty! I read many of the other reviews, and tried a few tips I read from others. I used 4 cups of sifted flour, 3 sticks of unsalted butter, and one stick of light butter (I wanted to try 1/2 salted and 1/2 unsalted, but the light was all I had). I added 1/2 tsp of vanilla and about 3/4 tsp salt. I put it in a 9x13 pan, and the finished product is about 3/4 inches thick. I sprinkled yellow colored sugar on top before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
This is a fantastic recipe!!! I made a few modifications as follows: Used 4 cups flour Used 2 - 9x13 glass pans Sprinked sugar on the finished shortbreads before cutting. It make a big batch - I had to get them out of the house before I ate a whole pound of butter!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
This was my first time to both make and eat shortbread and it turned out great! It turned out a bit on the crumbly side, but I think that may have been me not kneading thoroughly enough. I halved the recipe exactly, but after reading the reviews, I think next time I will use a little less flour. I also cooked it on 300 degrees F for about 30 minutes instead of the recommended 40, so next time I'll try taking off a few minutes as well. Very good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Meridian, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Scottish Shortbread

So irresistible yet shockingly simple to make.

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States