Scottish Shortbread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2006
If you WEIGH 2oz sugar, 4oz butter and 6oz flour for a round pan this is PERFECT. Simple and AUTHENTIC recipe - trust me the generations of home shortbread makers in Scotland will tell you the same thing! Thank you for this great recipe. (Use your hands and mix then plop into pan and press in, prick with fork, cook on 300 degrees for thirty minutes and when it starts to BROWN slightl it will be ready. Cut when still cooling and sprinkle sugar on top). PERFECT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
232 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
This shortbread recipe has made me famous around the neighborhood. The best part of this recipe is that it is a quick and easy make with ingredients I usually have around the house that is super delicious. One tip I learned from a French chef that makes this recipe even better than it already is: when adding the butter to the flour and sugar, it helps if you chill the butter first and then cut it up into small cubes (I cut the butter in half lengthwise twice and just chop from there). Then, with your fingertips, knead the butter into the flour and sugar. The idea here is not to end up with dough but rather crumbs. If you start to end up with dough, you should put the dough in the refrigerator a while to let it cool down. After you end up with crumbs, you should let it sit in the refrigerator for at least an hour before baking (half the time I skip this step though). Additionally, as someone else has already said, wait to cut the shortbread until it's cooled because it comes out of the oven very soft and will crumble if you cut it just after it comes out of the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
119 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2006
Oh My God...these are wonderful. I baked them a little longer(until top had just a hint of color). They were perfect ...crispy with softer centers. Do not cut until completely cold, then they won't crumble. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
114 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Cranberry Township, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2001
I made these before going to a campout along with another type of cookie I made oft times before. I look for easy inexpensive recipes because I like to share and don't have much money or time. These Scottish cookies are absolutely wonderful. Very easy to make. Crumbly, but not too bad in that area. And though the texture was a bit of a surprise, it added to the overall effect. They taste great without any embellishments and are very filling. They were a HUGE hit at the campout and I have people requesting more for next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2008
The recipe is good and easy. I baked these for my British neighbors with rave reviews. The helpful advice I followed from the reviewers: I baked these at 300 degrees for 30 min, I mixed the ingredients by hand, sprinkled w/sugar after baking and cut once they had cooled a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole Bredben

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marshfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2003
This was excellent! Tasted like traditional Walker's Scottish shortbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MPS6294

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2006
Absolutely yummy. I really have to let it go cold, before you cut it up. Or it will crumble.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2007
This is an excellent recipe. Taste even better than the Walker shortbread that you buy in the store. You can make it crunchier by adding a teaspoon of corn starch. Very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2002
I have tried soooooo many shortbread recipes and finally found a keeper here! This is not only simple but buttery and delicious!!! Melt in your mouth texture. Thanks!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAMIE33

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2006
Very good. I added a 1/2 tsp of almond extract and froze it before cutting it into wedges (I used a pie 9 in. plate). Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 203) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Scottish Shortbread

So irresistible yet shockingly simple to make.

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States