Scottish Shortbread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
Wonderful!!! I followed the recipe by weighing the ingredients like a former reviewer suggested. I made 2 seperate batches and they are gone!!! I sprinkled green sugar on top after taking out of oven, to decorate for St. Patty's Day. Just perfect!! Thanks!!!! Good note to remember is to not cut until cooled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
This shortbread recipe has made me famous around the neighborhood. The best part of this recipe is that it is a quick and easy make with ingredients I usually have around the house that is super delicious. One tip I learned from a French chef that makes this recipe even better than it already is: when adding the butter to the flour and sugar, it helps if you chill the butter first and then cut it up into small cubes (I cut the butter in half lengthwise twice and just chop from there). Then, with your fingertips, knead the butter into the flour and sugar. The idea here is not to end up with dough but rather crumbs. If you start to end up with dough, you should put the dough in the refrigerator a while to let it cool down. After you end up with crumbs, you should let it sit in the refrigerator for at least an hour before baking (half the time I skip this step though). Additionally, as someone else has already said, wait to cut the shortbread until it's cooled because it comes out of the oven very soft and will crumble if you cut it just after it comes out of the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
122 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
I made this recipe for the first time 3 days ago and loved it, though I did add nearly a tbsp. of vanilla extract. The dough was very sticky when I placed it in the pan, so in the future I might add a little extra flour. Oh, and I did sprinkle a little sugar on the top while it was baking. The flaky density and buttery flavor is fantastic! Friends have enjoyed this and I will make it again! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abbey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Magee, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
This was very good I made it more dryer beause I used it as the botton of a baked Alaska that I made It was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Greenleaf09

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sheridan, Wyoming, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
Great basic shortbread recipe! I added just a splash of vanilla and a sprinkle of sugar on top. I suggest both.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
This is THE recipe I was seeking! Very simple and quick to make, it disappeared even faster! (I did double the recipe and baked it in a pie dish-perfect fit!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
I made these for Christmas, and melted mint chocolate chips and drizzled over some, and repeated with milk and dark chocolate. The buttery flavored over ruled the milk chocolate, and the dark chocolate didn't complement the type of cookie well. I even added skor bits into some of the dough for skor-bit-short bread cookies- those ones where the biggest hit!! then the mint where the next fav. Only rating it a 4 b/c they were not very fluffy or melt in the mouth for me but sturdy and buttery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
I made this recipe a slightly different way. I sifted all dry ingredients into my mixer's bowl. I added butter in chunks and whipped them until the dough was semi-firm and fluffy. Put in a 9x13 pan and followed instructions from there. My family LOVED this recipe. Word to the wise, wait for the cookies to cool before trying to remove from pan. They are prone to crumble before they cool. Definitely worth your time! DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alli b

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
Yum! Incredibly easy and delicious! This is a keeper. I baked at 350 for 30 minutes; next time I might leave it in the oven a few minutes longer, but otherwise, I followed the recipe and it came out great. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bunnyslippers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
I tried to fine my mother's scottish shortbread recipe which I've lost - and this is the closest thing to it. Use 1 full cup of butter instead to make it less crumbly, and of course, much more buttery. That's how I remember it, so take it or leave it. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 205) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Scottish Shortbread

So irresistible yet shockingly simple to make.

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States