Scottish Shortbread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
Classic and delicious. This is the real deal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
I followed the recipe exactly and these make a really good lightly sweetened shortbread cookie. I thought they tasted even better the second day than when I ate them while they were still warm. I'm kind of a sugar fiend though, so next time I might try adding a little more sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shell Nik

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
I was looking for a traditional recipe and this is it. I do add a pinch of salt (as my Scottish nana taught me). i make mine in muffin tins so i have easy portions made. and i use my food processor for all the mizing (cream the butter, sugar and salt and then slowly add the flour). People rave about them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
How many things in life turn out just right? This is one of them -- the sweetness, richness, firm yet crumbly texture all evenly balance to make this as close to perfection as you're likely to ever get. A great addition to our holidays!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
I loved how easy it was to mix together and put into the pan to bake. I doubled the recipe and it came out fantastic. Just a couple of tweeks - 1. I baked at 300F for 35 minutes and they came out fine. Can't wait to make it again. I will be giving it away for Christmas this year and just know our friends and family will enjoy this beautiful shortbread. Thanks Cheryl
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lougagne

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
This recipe came out exactly as promised. Because the dough is so stiff, I turned it out onto a pastry cloth to work in the rest of the flour - much easier than trying to stir it in. What a treat to have homemade shortbread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Virginia, USA
Living In: Banner Elk, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
This recipe is fantastic! I added 1 tsp. of vanilla, but that was the only change I made, and it is just perfect! I baked in a 9 in. round pan at 350º for 30-35 mins or so, just until barely golden. Thank you for the great recipe! I'll be making this more often than my hips would like, I'm sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky Harmon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edwardsville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Mount Olive, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
I enjoyed this simple recipe! I read some of the other reviews, and baked at 350 for 30 mins and let cool, I sprinkled sugar ontop after 20 mins of baking and added a ts of vanilla. I used a pizza cutter to make sqaures and the shortbread squares came out perfect! Will make a lemon glaze or dip in chocolate and nuts next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
pretty good. Really easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
these were awesome - i doubled the batch and put them i glass baking dishes - 300 degrees for 40 mins. i did add about a tablespoon of mexican vanilla extract and one teaspoon of salt. i put the dishes in the fridge after coming out of the oven for about 20 minutes and they were easy to cut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rach

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 208) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Scottish Shortbread

So irresistible yet shockingly simple to make.

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States