Scottish Shortbread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
I made this shortbread yesterday, and sorry to say, was not very impressed. It just tasted like a butter crust, and not really shortbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
I made this recipe using Imperial margarine in place of butter because that is what I had. Overall it was very good! I will make this recipe again. My kids and their friends enjoyed it! I mixed the dough together with my hands and pressed it into a buttered pie plate, pricked holes in the top with a fork and baked it for about 35 minutes total at 350 degrees. I think next time I will use a bigger dish to press the dough in so that it will be thinner and more crisp as a result. Mine was not cooked in the center despite putting it back in the oven twice, maybe this is because I used margarine instead of butter? I sprinkled sugar over the top after it was done cooking. I will use this recipe again and try it with butter and maybe a little more sugar and some vanilla flavoring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Waukegan, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
So easy to make and tasty! My son and I both like thicker shortbread so this recipe was great for us. I baked in a glass 9x9 pan at 300 degrees and found that it needed to be in the oven for 45 minutes and the top was still not quite browned. But that didn't affect the wonderful taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
Delicious! I followed others' suggestions and added about a 1/4 tsp of salt and a bit of vanilla. I baked it in a spring form pan for easier removal. Simple to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
Fabulous! My very English friend said she hasn't had such wonderful shortbread since she left home (England)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
Classic and delicious. This is the real deal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
I followed the recipe exactly and these make a really good lightly sweetened shortbread cookie. I thought they tasted even better the second day than when I ate them while they were still warm. I'm kind of a sugar fiend though, so next time I might try adding a little more sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shell Nik

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
I was looking for a traditional recipe and this is it. I do add a pinch of salt (as my Scottish nana taught me). i make mine in muffin tins so i have easy portions made. and i use my food processor for all the mizing (cream the butter, sugar and salt and then slowly add the flour). People rave about them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
How many things in life turn out just right? This is one of them -- the sweetness, richness, firm yet crumbly texture all evenly balance to make this as close to perfection as you're likely to ever get. A great addition to our holidays!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
I loved how easy it was to mix together and put into the pan to bake. I doubled the recipe and it came out fantastic. Just a couple of tweeks - 1. I baked at 300F for 35 minutes and they came out fine. Can't wait to make it again. I will be giving it away for Christmas this year and just know our friends and family will enjoy this beautiful shortbread. Thanks Cheryl
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lougagne

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 203) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Scottish Shortbread

So irresistible yet shockingly simple to make.

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States