Scottish Shortbread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
I used weight not volume as suggested, tossed in a tad more butter, because I had it, added about 1/4 tsp salt and about 1 tsp vanilla. I then took about a tablespoon of dough and pressed it into buttered mini-muffin tin cups. I found that if the dough was about half way up the cup it was the best amount. I baked it on 350F for about 18 minutes. Careful as they turn brown from one minute to the next. It made about 24 little cookies not counting the uncooked dough I could not resist eating!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
So simple yet so delicious. I used salted sweet cream butter, my store brand, and it was amazing. I then bought a european butter and the taste was way off. So the butter you use makes all the difference in the world.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
Absolutely Fantastic! EASY, SIMPLE, DELICIOUS AND INCREDIBLE COST-SAVING RECIPE! I've been spending a fortune on buying those big red tins since I was little but I will be able to save more than $400 a year!! (yeah..I am addicted..) I strongly recommend this recipe to ALL! Thanks for sharing this precious recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
This simple shortbread is exactly what I was looking for: no fuss, delicious, and what I consider to be the real deal (though I'm not Scottish...). But adjustments / additional instructions to the recipe are necessary: Since there is no time listed for baking in the recipe, I would recommend keeping an eye on the shortbread after just a few minutes. I'm not sure how long mine took to bake, because all of a sudden I turned around and the edges were browning. Just be sure to keep an eye on the shortbread in the oven and you'll have delicious shortbread! Also, you might want to consider cutting the wedges before baking, and then cutting them again while the shortbread is still at least a little bit warm, or I believe you'll risk crumbling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
I have baked this shortbread, two times now, and I really like the flavor. I added 1 teaspoon of vanilla for a little uumph. This a quick recipe and very good, I'll be making them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
Im sorry but I was disappointed in this recipe. I saw all the great reviews and thought for sure this would be close to how my mum used to make them. She was from Scotland . her shortbread was wonderful and full of a buttery flavour. No one like them and compare them to paste...not being mean just honest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
I haven't made shortbread in years. This recipe turned out pretty good, EXCEPT it doesn't say how long to bake. I checked every 10 minutes & finally took them out of the oven after 35 minutes. I should have baked another 5 or 10 minutes. I used a round, glass pie pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
The BEST shortbread recipe I have ever come across, almost better than the original Scottish Shortbread you buy in those fancy tins!!! Always works out perfectly, even though I often triple the recipe. I usually make them as round biscuits and sprinkle lightly with sugar (warning, these disappear far too fast!) just make sure you use REAL butter for the taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
Just what I hoped for light, buttery, sandy ... One question: When I pat the dough into the pan, how can I make the top nice and smooth? Mine came out a little ugly , due to my uneven patting! And I doubled the recipe too and thought it turned out fine; I used a larger baking pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
Very easy and delicious recipe. Tastes like everything I remember from my Scottish neighbors. In variations I have added 1/2tsp vanilla and 1/4tsp almond. I have also doubled the recipe, reduce temp to 300 and cook for 50 minutes. I will be making it this holiday season with preserves in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 208) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Scottish Shortbread

So irresistible yet shockingly simple to make.

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States