Scottish Shortbread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 31, 2012
So much like Walker's! My husband raved about the recipe, it is much better than the one I used before from this site, he just suggested to use a bigger baking form for next time to get it thinner - mine were quite thick this time. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2012
This was wonderful. I used my pastry cutter and just mixed it and pressed it into the pan. It was buttery, not too sweet and perfect! I will make this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
Very good recipe - tastes just like how my grandmother used to make it for the holidays. I wish there was a time on this recipe though because I had no idea how long to put it in for. I started with 20 minutes and just kept checking until it was what appeared to be "done" and golden brown on top. It's very crumbly at first, so I took other reviewers advice and waited until it was completely cooled before trying to cut into squares. It was delicious and everyone loved it! I love easy recipes that only need a few ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisag81

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Winchester, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
GREAT recipe. I followed MOUSIREID instructions, and did it by weight, and I liked the turn out. It is a bit more of the crumbly side, even after cutting after cool, but its nice and "light" (as much as 1 stick of butter can be I suppose). It's not super sweet, so it pairs well with tea. The sprinkle of sugar did a nice touch, and I ended up leaving mine in the oven for 3 minutes longer to color it a bit. I only wish I had a nice orange or berry jam to spread a bit atop it! Terrific little treat for anyone. I dare you to try and keep it past a day, I definitely made excuses to go to the kitchen every few minutes...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
Tried this recipe yesterday. To a T and it was fine until I tried cutting it. It all absolutely crumbled apart and though the overall taste was OK it was dry and not buttery like I expected. Still searching . . . . .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
I used weight not volume as suggested, tossed in a tad more butter, because I had it, added about 1/4 tsp salt and about 1 tsp vanilla. I then took about a tablespoon of dough and pressed it into buttered mini-muffin tin cups. I found that if the dough was about half way up the cup it was the best amount. I baked it on 350F for about 18 minutes. Careful as they turn brown from one minute to the next. It made about 24 little cookies not counting the uncooked dough I could not resist eating!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
So simple yet so delicious. I used salted sweet cream butter, my store brand, and it was amazing. I then bought a european butter and the taste was way off. So the butter you use makes all the difference in the world.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
Absolutely Fantastic! EASY, SIMPLE, DELICIOUS AND INCREDIBLE COST-SAVING RECIPE! I've been spending a fortune on buying those big red tins since I was little but I will be able to save more than $400 a year!! (yeah..I am addicted..) I strongly recommend this recipe to ALL! Thanks for sharing this precious recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
This simple shortbread is exactly what I was looking for: no fuss, delicious, and what I consider to be the real deal (though I'm not Scottish...). But adjustments / additional instructions to the recipe are necessary: Since there is no time listed for baking in the recipe, I would recommend keeping an eye on the shortbread after just a few minutes. I'm not sure how long mine took to bake, because all of a sudden I turned around and the edges were browning. Just be sure to keep an eye on the shortbread in the oven and you'll have delicious shortbread! Also, you might want to consider cutting the wedges before baking, and then cutting them again while the shortbread is still at least a little bit warm, or I believe you'll risk crumbling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
I have baked this shortbread, two times now, and I really like the flavor. I added 1 teaspoon of vanilla for a little uumph. This a quick recipe and very good, I'll be making them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 203) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Scottish Shortbread

So irresistible yet shockingly simple to make.

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States