Scottish Shortbread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
Quick and simple recipe for shortbread buttery goodness. I made this late one night when I was itching to bake but only had a few basic ingredients on hand. Followed this recipe exactly, even used a 9 x 9 glass pan. Important to wait until it cools before cutting. I also sprinkled nutmeg on top before putting it into the oven, which perfected the recipe for me. This is a fairly traditional shortbread, texture is slightly crumbly but it still melts in your mouth. Will definitely be making again this year for the holidays!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by romapu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2012
First time making shortbread. enjoyed it and the taste was pleasant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
Delicious!! I think this is better than the Walker's shortbread cookies since it is so buttery and light. The cookie just melts in your mouth. I made this everyday for a week and then I made a double batch to see if it would last a little longer. No such luck. It lasted about a day. I am going to try adding some mini chocolate chips to my next batch to see how they turn out. The only problem with this recipe is that the cookies are so good you will eat more than you should. Thank you for this wonderful recipe. In some of the reviews, people have said that they added salt. I use salted butter and found that this recipe is wonderful exactly as it is written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2012
So much like Walker's! My husband raved about the recipe, it is much better than the one I used before from this site, he just suggested to use a bigger baking form for next time to get it thinner - mine were quite thick this time. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2012
This was wonderful. I used my pastry cutter and just mixed it and pressed it into the pan. It was buttery, not too sweet and perfect! I will make this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
Very good recipe - tastes just like how my grandmother used to make it for the holidays. I wish there was a time on this recipe though because I had no idea how long to put it in for. I started with 20 minutes and just kept checking until it was what appeared to be "done" and golden brown on top. It's very crumbly at first, so I took other reviewers advice and waited until it was completely cooled before trying to cut into squares. It was delicious and everyone loved it! I love easy recipes that only need a few ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisag81

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Winchester, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
GREAT recipe. I followed MOUSIREID instructions, and did it by weight, and I liked the turn out. It is a bit more of the crumbly side, even after cutting after cool, but its nice and "light" (as much as 1 stick of butter can be I suppose). It's not super sweet, so it pairs well with tea. The sprinkle of sugar did a nice touch, and I ended up leaving mine in the oven for 3 minutes longer to color it a bit. I only wish I had a nice orange or berry jam to spread a bit atop it! Terrific little treat for anyone. I dare you to try and keep it past a day, I definitely made excuses to go to the kitchen every few minutes...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
Tried this recipe yesterday. To a T and it was fine until I tried cutting it. It all absolutely crumbled apart and though the overall taste was OK it was dry and not buttery like I expected. Still searching . . . . .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
I used weight not volume as suggested, tossed in a tad more butter, because I had it, added about 1/4 tsp salt and about 1 tsp vanilla. I then took about a tablespoon of dough and pressed it into buttered mini-muffin tin cups. I found that if the dough was about half way up the cup it was the best amount. I baked it on 350F for about 18 minutes. Careful as they turn brown from one minute to the next. It made about 24 little cookies not counting the uncooked dough I could not resist eating!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
So simple yet so delicious. I used salted sweet cream butter, my store brand, and it was amazing. I then bought a european butter and the taste was way off. So the butter you use makes all the difference in the world.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 206) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Scottish Shortbread

So irresistible yet shockingly simple to make.

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States