Scottish Shortbread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
Very good. I grew up in Scotland and have eaten a lot of shortbread. I like to use Kerrygold butter which is an Irish butter. It can be found here in the US. In Scotland we use "caster sugar" which is a finer sugar than the regular kind. I found some "superfine" sugar here which seems to be the same. This requires just the right amount of baking time, so know the idiosyncrasies of your oven and work with them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kerryokie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
Goodbye store-bought shortbread!!!! This was wonderful and easy. I followed the advice of another reviewer and "cut" cold butter in and mixed with fingertips until crumbly. I didn't have the right size pan so I made them into cookies by squishing a tablespoon full into a ball then pressing it down with a fork. They still came out flaky and wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dominica

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
This is a good basic shortbread recipe but it is better if you substitute 2 tbsp of the flour with rice flour. Also, shortbread sould age for a few days before eating and that way it is not nearly as crumbly. Have been making many types of shortbreads for years and they will keep for weeks in a covered tin just on the shelf
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2013
Just what I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikki Garner
Living In: West York, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
adding 1 egg white helps it stay together but doesn't change the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
I've made this my go-to shortbread recipe and use the food processor as I do for pie crust. Quick, easy, and just like Scotland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Laura
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
The first time I tried the recipe I didn't have enough butter so I tried to make a half batch and it came out terrible. I tried again yesterday with the full ingredients and it came out perfect. I made small round balls then flattened them and pricked them with a fork. They smell and taste as good as Walker's brand. My father likes them better than Walker's. I will be using this recipe often. I love that it's so simple with only 3 ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
Traditional Scottish shortbread- delicious! I doubled the recipe, and divided it between 3 8-inch cake pans, prick the dough and bake 20 min. Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberliah

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
Couldn't be simpler! And tastes like the real deal. We've visited Scotland a couple of times, once on the isle of Skye at the Hebridean Hotel Broadford. Their shortbread was made fresh daily and was always in a tin covered in castor sugar. Their recipe was too large for me to convert but this recipe of Cheryl O's has pretty much nailed it! I sprinkle sugar on it before it bakes and when I take it out. Just shake off the excess. Works beautifully in silicone bakeware, just don't slice too deep! Hard, expensive Walker's is history in this house! Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
As written 4 stars. After following another reviewer's advice for very traditional Scottish shortbread, I WEIGHED 2oz sugar, 4oz butter and 6oz flour and put it in a round pie pan, this was PERFECT. Cut into wedges while it was hot. Let it cool a bit, and it was crispy outside, tender inside, flavorful and buttery. YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 207) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Scottish Shortbread

So irresistible yet shockingly simple to make.

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States