Scottish Shortbread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
I made this recipe for the first time 3 days ago and loved it, though I did add nearly a tbsp. of vanilla extract. The dough was very sticky when I placed it in the pan, so in the future I might add a little extra flour. Oh, and I did sprinkle a little sugar on the top while it was baking. The flaky density and buttery flavor is fantastic! Friends have enjoyed this and I will make it again! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abbey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Magee, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
This was very good I made it more dryer beause I used it as the botton of a baked Alaska that I made It was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Greenleaf09

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sheridan, Wyoming, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
Great basic shortbread recipe! I added just a splash of vanilla and a sprinkle of sugar on top. I suggest both.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
This is THE recipe I was seeking! Very simple and quick to make, it disappeared even faster! (I did double the recipe and baked it in a pie dish-perfect fit!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
I made these for Christmas, and melted mint chocolate chips and drizzled over some, and repeated with milk and dark chocolate. The buttery flavored over ruled the milk chocolate, and the dark chocolate didn't complement the type of cookie well. I even added skor bits into some of the dough for skor-bit-short bread cookies- those ones where the biggest hit!! then the mint where the next fav. Only rating it a 4 b/c they were not very fluffy or melt in the mouth for me but sturdy and buttery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
I made this recipe a slightly different way. I sifted all dry ingredients into my mixer's bowl. I added butter in chunks and whipped them until the dough was semi-firm and fluffy. Put in a 9x13 pan and followed instructions from there. My family LOVED this recipe. Word to the wise, wait for the cookies to cool before trying to remove from pan. They are prone to crumble before they cool. Definitely worth your time! DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alli b

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
Yum! Incredibly easy and delicious! This is a keeper. I baked at 350 for 30 minutes; next time I might leave it in the oven a few minutes longer, but otherwise, I followed the recipe and it came out great. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bunnyslippers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
I tried to fine my mother's scottish shortbread recipe which I've lost - and this is the closest thing to it. Use 1 full cup of butter instead to make it less crumbly, and of course, much more buttery. That's how I remember it, so take it or leave it. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
I really love shortbread, so this was super disappointing. The flaws are mostly in the method, but here are a few remedies. Start w/cold butter cut into 1/2"-1" pieces pulsed w/the flour. The missing salt is really noticeable. It needs at least 1/4 tsp of salt, maybe even 1/2 tsp (haven't tried that much yet). Refrigerating for an hour or before shaping/baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shrinking Chef

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
I made these today with my daughter. Delicious! We made three batches, added mini chocolate chips to one and mini Andes mint chips to the other. YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 203) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Scottish Shortbread

So irresistible yet shockingly simple to make.

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States