Scottish Shortbread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
I gave it 4 stars because its a happy medium between my tastes and my husband's (and his family's) tastes. He and my in-laws are pie crust eating fools lol. I, on the other hand, eat the filling and leave the crusts for dog or my husband (which ever begs first). If you like pie crust, this is a sweet version. It was good, just not to my liking. I think this would be good as the crust to either a fruit pizza, a cream and berry tart/torte or even a cheesecake. Maybe next time I'll throw in some nuts or slather it with jam (or chocolate!) I will definately will make again for the aforementioned experiments and for my husband ;o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Davidica

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Hot Springs, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
These were super easy and perfect! Added a little vanilla just because, but probably not necessary. Yummy yummy! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by iFLYillini
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
This was a great and quick recipe and I liked that it does yield a smaller amount because I was baking for only 2 (i used 9X9 pan and cut about 16 little squares. I cooked for 28 minutes. I also warmed raspberry jam after I took the shortbread out of the oven and drizzled on. I let cool for a long time and had no crumbling. Update: I made these again and followed another review to put the dough in mini-muffins pans. This is a great idea. I had left over raspberries and strawberries, so I put one or two small pieces in each tin. This was perfect and much needed otherwise the shortbread would have been too thick for me without another flavor. I love this recipe, it is so fast!! Also, when using the minis pan, it cooked for about 15 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
Wonderful!!! I followed the recipe by weighing the ingredients like a former reviewer suggested. I made 2 seperate batches and they are gone!!! I sprinkled green sugar on top after taking out of oven, to decorate for St. Patty's Day. Just perfect!! Thanks!!!! Good note to remember is to not cut until cooled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
This shortbread recipe has made me famous around the neighborhood. The best part of this recipe is that it is a quick and easy make with ingredients I usually have around the house that is super delicious. One tip I learned from a French chef that makes this recipe even better than it already is: when adding the butter to the flour and sugar, it helps if you chill the butter first and then cut it up into small cubes (I cut the butter in half lengthwise twice and just chop from there). Then, with your fingertips, knead the butter into the flour and sugar. The idea here is not to end up with dough but rather crumbs. If you start to end up with dough, you should put the dough in the refrigerator a while to let it cool down. After you end up with crumbs, you should let it sit in the refrigerator for at least an hour before baking (half the time I skip this step though). Additionally, as someone else has already said, wait to cut the shortbread until it's cooled because it comes out of the oven very soft and will crumble if you cut it just after it comes out of the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
125 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
I made this recipe for the first time 3 days ago and loved it, though I did add nearly a tbsp. of vanilla extract. The dough was very sticky when I placed it in the pan, so in the future I might add a little extra flour. Oh, and I did sprinkle a little sugar on the top while it was baking. The flaky density and buttery flavor is fantastic! Friends have enjoyed this and I will make it again! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abbey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Magee, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
This was very good I made it more dryer beause I used it as the botton of a baked Alaska that I made It was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Greenleaf09

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sheridan, Wyoming, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
Great basic shortbread recipe! I added just a splash of vanilla and a sprinkle of sugar on top. I suggest both.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
This is THE recipe I was seeking! Very simple and quick to make, it disappeared even faster! (I did double the recipe and baked it in a pie dish-perfect fit!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
I made these for Christmas, and melted mint chocolate chips and drizzled over some, and repeated with milk and dark chocolate. The buttery flavored over ruled the milk chocolate, and the dark chocolate didn't complement the type of cookie well. I even added skor bits into some of the dough for skor-bit-short bread cookies- those ones where the biggest hit!! then the mint where the next fav. Only rating it a 4 b/c they were not very fluffy or melt in the mouth for me but sturdy and buttery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 208) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Scottish Shortbread

So irresistible yet shockingly simple to make.

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States