Scottish Shortbread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2010
Very good taste, but crumbles so much that it's not acceptable. I tried it twice, did not work, won't be making it again. Too bad, because it's really tasty...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by larisagrujic
Photo by NETCRAWLER2000CA
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2010
I used fruit sugar instead of icing sugar and baked this in a 9x9 pan. When cold I frosted it with a butter cream icing, garnished with chopped walnuts and quartered marashino cherries. Then I cut them into squares with a sharp paring knife to serve as Shortbread Sq. I found them a little thick. Next time I will try putting them into a 9x12 pan instead. They are delicious! The same recipe can be doubled, rolled by the tablespoon full into balls and baked as cookies. These I also frost with a petit four icing and garnish with a 1/2 a marashino cherry. My guests love those at Christmas time and they are also nice to put into gift containers for friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NETCRAWLER2000CA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cowansville, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2010
Delicious, although a bit too thick for me. I'd consider putting in in 2 rounds for thinner slices. So incredibly easy to make and definitely a quick fix for something sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2010
I like to add a pinch of salt to the mix. Recipe is super quick, easy, and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
O my gosh! This is so quick & easy. I doubled the batch & my family ate the first batch within a heartbeat! This is definitely one of my fave Scottish recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Genesis Witkowski James

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tooele, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
I gave it 4 stars because its a happy medium between my tastes and my husband's (and his family's) tastes. He and my in-laws are pie crust eating fools lol. I, on the other hand, eat the filling and leave the crusts for dog or my husband (which ever begs first). If you like pie crust, this is a sweet version. It was good, just not to my liking. I think this would be good as the crust to either a fruit pizza, a cream and berry tart/torte or even a cheesecake. Maybe next time I'll throw in some nuts or slather it with jam (or chocolate!) I will definately will make again for the aforementioned experiments and for my husband ;o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Davidica

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Hot Springs, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
These were super easy and perfect! Added a little vanilla just because, but probably not necessary. Yummy yummy! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by iFLYillini
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
This was a great and quick recipe and I liked that it does yield a smaller amount because I was baking for only 2 (i used 9X9 pan and cut about 16 little squares. I cooked for 28 minutes. I also warmed raspberry jam after I took the shortbread out of the oven and drizzled on. I let cool for a long time and had no crumbling. Update: I made these again and followed another review to put the dough in mini-muffins pans. This is a great idea. I had left over raspberries and strawberries, so I put one or two small pieces in each tin. This was perfect and much needed otherwise the shortbread would have been too thick for me without another flavor. I love this recipe, it is so fast!! Also, when using the minis pan, it cooked for about 15 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
Wonderful!!! I followed the recipe by weighing the ingredients like a former reviewer suggested. I made 2 seperate batches and they are gone!!! I sprinkled green sugar on top after taking out of oven, to decorate for St. Patty's Day. Just perfect!! Thanks!!!! Good note to remember is to not cut until cooled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
This shortbread recipe has made me famous around the neighborhood. The best part of this recipe is that it is a quick and easy make with ingredients I usually have around the house that is super delicious. One tip I learned from a French chef that makes this recipe even better than it already is: when adding the butter to the flour and sugar, it helps if you chill the butter first and then cut it up into small cubes (I cut the butter in half lengthwise twice and just chop from there). Then, with your fingertips, knead the butter into the flour and sugar. The idea here is not to end up with dough but rather crumbs. If you start to end up with dough, you should put the dough in the refrigerator a while to let it cool down. After you end up with crumbs, you should let it sit in the refrigerator for at least an hour before baking (half the time I skip this step though). Additionally, as someone else has already said, wait to cut the shortbread until it's cooled because it comes out of the oven very soft and will crumble if you cut it just after it comes out of the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
119 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 203) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Scottish Shortbread

So irresistible yet shockingly simple to make.

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States