Scottish Shortbread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
Im sorry but I was disappointed in this recipe. I saw all the great reviews and thought for sure this would be close to how my mum used to make them. She was from Scotland . her shortbread was wonderful and full of a buttery flavour. No one like them and compare them to paste...not being mean just honest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
I haven't made shortbread in years. This recipe turned out pretty good, EXCEPT it doesn't say how long to bake. I checked every 10 minutes & finally took them out of the oven after 35 minutes. I should have baked another 5 or 10 minutes. I used a round, glass pie pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
The BEST shortbread recipe I have ever come across, almost better than the original Scottish Shortbread you buy in those fancy tins!!! Always works out perfectly, even though I often triple the recipe. I usually make them as round biscuits and sprinkle lightly with sugar (warning, these disappear far too fast!) just make sure you use REAL butter for the taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
Just what I hoped for light, buttery, sandy ... One question: When I pat the dough into the pan, how can I make the top nice and smooth? Mine came out a little ugly , due to my uneven patting! And I doubled the recipe too and thought it turned out fine; I used a larger baking pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
Very easy and delicious recipe. Tastes like everything I remember from my Scottish neighbors. In variations I have added 1/2tsp vanilla and 1/4tsp almond. I have also doubled the recipe, reduce temp to 300 and cook for 50 minutes. I will be making it this holiday season with preserves in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
This is better than my favorite red box brand Scottish shortbread cookies. Added 1/4 tsp vanilla and 1/8 tsp almond extract. My kids loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Bothell, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
Have tried other shortbread cookies from this site and I think these are the easiest! I don't have a cookie press and normally I had to use a small glass to cut out cookies and they were VERY delicate. I flattened the dough in a round 9" springform pan and it was super easy... the hard part is waiting for them to cool.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
Is it me, or is this recipe missing a cooking time? Even an estimate would be helpful, 10 minutes an hour, whatever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
Quick very easy i put balls of dough in a mini muffin tin with fresh blueberries in the center. baked 350 for about 12 mins
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brittknight

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Crestview, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
Perfect!!!! You can't get a more simple, and more traditional shortbread than this! Instead of putting it into a pie dish, though, I put it in an 8 x 8 square pan. Much easier to cook!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 203) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Scottish Shortbread

So irresistible yet shockingly simple to make.

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States