Scottish Shortbread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2006
WOW!!! I added just a touch of vanilla extract and creamed my butter and sugar for a very long time as suggested in other reviews and the dough came out feeling like silk. Melt in your mouth cookies. Follow my advise above and you will love these cookies. I am going to try almond extract next.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
111 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by welldone

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Little Elm, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2006
Very good recipe Helen. I used regular sugar instead of powdered and added some almond extract for a little extra flavor. I had this as an afternoon snack with coffee. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2006
This recipe was easy with its simple ingredients. The cookies were melt in your mouth good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Voorhees, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2005
Melts-in-the-mouth! Simple and delicious shortbread. Anyone who says otherwise is mistaken. Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2005
Sweet and rich. A sure pleasure for dessert and snacks. Also very soft and smooth. You can make them into pretty much any shape. If ratings for these recipes could got to 100 stars i'd give it a hundred. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2005
Fantastic, and so simple. I needed a little bit more butter than stated and used wholemeal flour instead, and they turned out wonderful. Quantities in the recipe made much more than I expected. Definitely one to keep!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2004
This is an excellent recipe. I love that it has so few ingredients, and is so easy, yet so delicious! I am so happy to have found it. The only thing I changed is, I added 2 tsp. of vanilla, and I spread the batter in a small jelly roll pan and cut it for the size cookies I wanted, and I baked it for 30 minutes at 325*F. I got 32 cookies doing it this way. I can't thank you enough for this recipe. Because it's so easy, I will make them often. This one's a keeper. I will always use it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2004
There is not enoung butter or sugar in the recipe. The dough came out too crumbly and bland in taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2004
I wish I could give this recipe 10 stars! I've never made shortcake cookies before, but I had a craving for them and I already had everything on hand. These are so much better and homemade tasting than those yummy cookies you get in a tin. I would not recommend rolling the dough out, because shortbread dough tends to be crumbly. Instead I made tiny balls and flattened them out with a fork, which made a pretty criss cross design. You can also make variations, such as adding chocolate chips or dipping one half in chocolate after.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2003
dis recipe was nothin lik it said it didnt evn cum close 2 makin i think it was 4 dozen cookies! a got only about 1 & a 1/4 dozen and it took way longer then 5 2 8 mins. it took about 15 and when i had made the dough it was all crumbly would not roll out at all! i had tons of flour on the rollin pin but it would not stop stickin and as for taste goes itwas ok i have had way better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Scottish Shortbread

So irresistible yet shockingly simple to make.

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States