Scottish Shortbread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
Just made this for Christmas once again. The recipe is perfect. Follow the directions, make sure the cookies are about 1/2 inch thick and mark with fork tines. It's hard to tell the difference between these and the ones you buy in the store!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
Almost perfect, I agree with the others, adding 5ml of Vanilla Extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
My grandmother, from Scotland, said this was "Bang On"! Excellant recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia Graham

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntsville, Texas, USA
Living In: Shelton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2010
Extremely disappointing. Definitely needs a LOT more sugar in it. It tasted very dry and bland. Doubt I'll give it another try. Even added vanilla extract as suggested by others and extra sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by curiouscook88

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
Texture poor, difficult to handle. Unsatisfactory results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
This is a simple, quick recipe for a nice batch of shortbread cookies, although mine only yielded a dozen, not 2 dozen like the "servings" said. The recipe itself is just fine, although I add a small pinch of vanilla extract for just a little more sweetness. The issue I have is with rolling it out; it's nigh on impossible to do. In the future I will just make drop cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
YUM! These were SO amazing! Very light and not too crumbly and super, super easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mad_Batter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Moyock, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
Very Salty... If you are using salted butter omit salt.. Nobody in my family enjoyed these cookies
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn McKenzie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
Excellent shortbread, very tender. Rolls nicely, but be sure you have PLENTY of flour on your board, it sticks pretty quickly. If you are using cookie cutters rather than making bars, the extra time it takes can let the flour absorb into all that buttery richness!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
okk, so this was my first time making short bread or anything from scratch really and this recipe is sooo easy! I replaced confectioners' with brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Scottish Shortbread

So irresistible yet shockingly simple to make.

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States