Scottish Shortbread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2006
WOW!!! I added just a touch of vanilla extract and creamed my butter and sugar for a very long time as suggested in other reviews and the dough came out feeling like silk. Melt in your mouth cookies. Follow my advise above and you will love these cookies. I am going to try almond extract next.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
111 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by welldone

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Little Elm, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2004
I wish I could give this recipe 10 stars! I've never made shortcake cookies before, but I had a craving for them and I already had everything on hand. These are so much better and homemade tasting than those yummy cookies you get in a tin. I would not recommend rolling the dough out, because shortbread dough tends to be crumbly. Instead I made tiny balls and flattened them out with a fork, which made a pretty criss cross design. You can also make variations, such as adding chocolate chips or dipping one half in chocolate after.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2002
Not the best, could've been better. You're setting yourself up for a fall if you say it's the best and I expect it to be the best and it doesn't compare to competition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2000
My 7yr old daughter and I made this in less than 10 min. I have been searching for this reciepe for years. This is the same cookie that they sold for 10 cents, back in high school (peanut butter was good to but this is my favorite) . these cookies will make you loved and well liked by everyone who taste them. they are EXCELLENT and easy to make. My kids love them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2002
Exactly what shortbread should taste like! If you want a bit more crunchy shortbread, it takes much longer to bake but is delicious no matter what. Sprinkle sugar on the top for extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2004
This is an excellent recipe. I love that it has so few ingredients, and is so easy, yet so delicious! I am so happy to have found it. The only thing I changed is, I added 2 tsp. of vanilla, and I spread the batter in a small jelly roll pan and cut it for the size cookies I wanted, and I baked it for 30 minutes at 325*F. I got 32 cookies doing it this way. I can't thank you enough for this recipe. Because it's so easy, I will make them often. This one's a keeper. I will always use it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2002
I baked these for Thanksgiving, using a maple leaf cookie cutter, and drizzled a powdered sugar/milk mixture over it (colored in fall colors of course). I took them to my Aunt's house, and they were immediately gobbled up. My Aunt and Grandma even decided to take a bunch and stash them away for their daily tea! What a delicious recipe! They keep their shape well, and are very buttery and yummy! This will definately stay in my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mount Laurel, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Naples, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2002
really melts in your mouth! absolutely amazing cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2002
Very good recipe. I tend to like sweeter cookies so I sprinkled the top with sugar before baking. Very happy with the result! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belmond, Iowa, USA
Living In: Hershey, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2001
The most perfect melt in your mouth shortbread!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Scottish Shortbread

So irresistible yet shockingly simple to make.

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States