Scottish Shortbread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2007
These were good. Not quite what I was looking for. These are a bit plain but still tasty. I prefer the shortbread made brown sugar. I was looking for a shortbread cookie that tastes like a Lorna Doon. I thought the Scottish Shortbread IV recipe was the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tyler, Texas, USA
Living In: Woburn, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2007
Absolutely the best shortbread ever! I have played with the variations....adding almond extract or lemon zest, sometimes just vanilla bean paste. I've even made a savory batch with garlic and rosemary for the base for an amuse-bouche. Tonight I am adding ginger puree and orange zest! I typically roll these out kinda thick (1/2" or thicker) and cut into different size rounds--it works great with all differenct cookie cutters too. I watch the bake time very closely. This recipe is just so versatile...I love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2007
A huge hit with my fella- I have been ordered never to let these run out! I add a little almond extract to give them a bit more flavour and it goes lovely! I am going to experiment by adding different flavourings and maybe some flaked coconut. I make these larger so I have to cook them for longer. A crumbly but not too dry texture so good for my mother-in-law with false teeth too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SUGARPLUMSCOOKIES
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2007
Excellent recipe. We used this to make our 3-dimensional Shortbread Christmas Trees. Thanks, Helen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUGARPLUMSCOOKIES

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2006
This is the standard shortbread recipe. It's the perfect texture and taste. I baked for around 8 minutes in my oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ggglitch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2006
I can only say "Oh, my"! Tasty, light, simple to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2006
Great tasting and looking cookie. Dough was easy to work, roll and cut. No refrigeration needed prior to cutting with cookie cutters. Iced with a mixture of 1/2 canned white icing and 1/2 corn syrup. Makes a nice, shiny coating that is easy for decorated sugar to stick on. Allow the icing to dry completely before storing. Thanks for an easy, buttery tasting cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2006
This recipe used few ingredients, but tastes great with a few alterations. I didn't have powdered sugar, so I used a blend of white and brown sugar. I also sprinkled sugar on the top after rolling the dough into balls (like regular cookies... as suggested by someone else). They had to bake for 20 minutes at 350, but I'd make them again. They aren't too sweet and are very easy to make. I think it's a great recipe to make with kids as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Fort Dodge, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2006
Baked mine in a round pan so i could cut into eight wedges, turned out pretty good. Had to bake about 50min. Think it need more butter to make it a little more flaky. Anyone who tried it gave it a 7 out of 10. Defently one of the better recipes out there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chippawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Welland, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2006
Sorry, I just wasn't crazy about these. I felt that the cookies were a little too sweet, and boring. Though I guess that's to be expected of shortbread? Anyhow, I've definitely made and tasted better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Scottish Shortbread

So irresistible yet shockingly simple to make.

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States