Scottish Shortbread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2008
I was in the mood for cookies but i had no vanilla or eggs. Thought i'd give these a try, and in the middle of mashing up the butter company arrived. perfect timing or what? I don't have a rolling pin so i floured up a wine bottle and rolled out the dough. These were really good fresh out of the oven. They took about nine minutes to get slightly brown on the edge of the thinnest cookie, but since there were no eggs i didn't really worry about them being undercooked, i like a soft cookie anyway. flaky and buttery and my boyfriend and his roomate loved them. Only problem....i got a blister from creaming all that butter. =(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Newark, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2008
This recipe produced tender, melt in your mouth shortbread. I added 1/2 tsp. vanilla to the cookies and they turned out to be fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hardrockgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yorba Linda, California, USA
Living In: Mechanicsville, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
These were just OK for me (boyfriend and kids liked them, though)...I thought the dough was hard to work with (sticky) and the finished cookies were a bit bland and pasty. On the other hand, if you need to whip up a quick cookie and don't have any eggs on hand, it's not a bad recipe. I rolled my cookies into balls, flattened slightly, and decorated with colored sugar before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VD711

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Batavia, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2007
Smelled wonderful, tastes great but I couldn't get these to roll out successfully at all. Finally, just did drop cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
I made this and Scottish Shortbread 4 this weekend (also very good). Very light and melt-in-your-moouth, but compared to 4, a little lacking in flavor. I may add vanilla if I do this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
My mother requested some shortbread for a christmas gift. I've never been a big fan of the Walker's shortbread cookies, so I'm not entirely sure what good shortbread is. That being said, I liked this recipe. Since I was testing a recipe, I halved the recipe. It was really easy to make. I just made drop cookies. They were so good just a few minutes out of the oven. Delicate cookies. I sent the rest to work with my husband so I wouldn't eat the whole batch by myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bangor, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2007
i used holly shaped cookie cutters,then dipped them in chocolate. they were nice but not as sweet as i would have liked.easy to make though. thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Plymouth, Devon, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2007
This cookie was just not sweet enough for me. I sprinkled them with powdered sugar and they still weren't sweet enough for me. Maybe they are supposed to be only slightly sweet? The dough was very easy to work with though. It was not crumbly at all and was very smooth and silky. They baked well in the oven. I might try these again...only with more sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
Very yummy.. Melting in mouth and so delicate... I would add a little bit more flour and sugar. I can't wait to try this dipped in chocolate and I also plan on making these savory.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2007
So simple and very delicious. The dough was a little sticky to work with, but I just added extra flour to my surface when rolling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Piper06

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Germantown, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Scottish Shortbread

So irresistible yet shockingly simple to make.

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States