Scottish Shortbread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
My grandmother, from Scotland, said this was "Bang On"! Excellant recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia Graham

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntsville, Texas, USA
Living In: Shelton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2010
Extremely disappointing. Definitely needs a LOT more sugar in it. It tasted very dry and bland. Doubt I'll give it another try. Even added vanilla extract as suggested by others and extra sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by curiouscook88

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
Texture poor, difficult to handle. Unsatisfactory results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
This is a simple, quick recipe for a nice batch of shortbread cookies, although mine only yielded a dozen, not 2 dozen like the "servings" said. The recipe itself is just fine, although I add a small pinch of vanilla extract for just a little more sweetness. The issue I have is with rolling it out; it's nigh on impossible to do. In the future I will just make drop cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
YUM! These were SO amazing! Very light and not too crumbly and super, super easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mad_Batter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Moyock, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
Very Salty... If you are using salted butter omit salt.. Nobody in my family enjoyed these cookies
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
Excellent shortbread, very tender. Rolls nicely, but be sure you have PLENTY of flour on your board, it sticks pretty quickly. If you are using cookie cutters rather than making bars, the extra time it takes can let the flour absorb into all that buttery richness!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
okk, so this was my first time making short bread or anything from scratch really and this recipe is sooo easy! I replaced confectioners' with brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
This recipe was excellent. I followed the recipe but took the advice of another member who suggested dropping the cookies on a cookie sheet and pressing them with a fork, rather than rolling them out and cutting them. These cookies melted in our mouths. They were a perfect shortbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
So also had no eggs on hand and need to fufill a cookie craving so this is the recipe that sounded the best. I took from some other reviews and this is what I did. I halved the recipe as a test batch and it called for 1/4 cup confectioners sugar but I like them a little sweeter so I did a 1/3 cup instead. I creamed the margarine and sugar ( yes I used margarine in all my baking) for a long time as suggested and added a capful of almond extract. Instead of rolling them I made small balls that I flattened to about 1/2 in. thick. Looking back I could have made them flatter because my cooking time ended up being 24 minutes ( my oven is brand new and it seems like everything always takes longer to bake in a new oven). It may not help anyone else to bake them this way but I'll need a reference so I can make them perfect again next time because I'll definitely be making them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emma0517

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Columbus, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Scottish Shortbread

So irresistible yet shockingly simple to make.

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States