Scottish Shepherd's Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Gretchen
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
My husband loves when I make this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gretchen
Reviewed: May 11, 2012
It was leftover night so I made two separate dishes to suit everyone's likes. This was one of them! All four of my kids absolutely LOVED this recipe. I did tweak it a little bit..I added freshly minced garlic and onions to the ham and fried it for about ten minutes on high heat before putting in the casserole. The only thing i did find was that there was a bit too much cream corn, as it bubbled up and over the mashed potatoes (although it wasn't too much when eating it, it was actually perfect amount!!). So if using two cans, I recommend putting a pan under your casserole dish to catch the drippings or you will be cleaning your oven! Will definitely make this again. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Proud Canadian Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
I made this last night for my family, it was a quick fix! I did make a few changes being I thought the flavors kind of ended up just meshing together. To help brake up the starches I simply added some cheddar cheese to the top half way through baking. It would also be great with a gravy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Erimess
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
I've never had a shepherd's pie before, so I wouldn't know the difference between Scottish and otherwise, but I hope it's true that this isn't really like it. It was OK, but nothing beyond that. I normally get that there are differences of opinion, but this time I quite honestly don't understand the 5 stars. I made it as is, except that I didn't totally mash the potatoes down, but left a lot of small hunks, which merely changed the texture a bit. I didn't have issues with it being too wet or anything, but it certainly did need something. It also did not heat up very well. Won't be making again, sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erimess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
I followed Stephkow's idea: Add 1 egg + 1 (small) box of Jiffy Cornbread Mix and it lasted my family of 3 for 3 days. I did not add frozen peas but if you like them that is a good idea. I stored this in a covered caseorole dish (inside a Xtra large Ziploc. Made for easy clean up).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maureen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
Excellent. Very quick and easy. My husband loved it. I always look for easy quick meals to make during the week since we both work. This was both filling and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
This was great! The family was getting really tired of ham sandwiches so I was looking for a simple recipe I could make quickly. My teenage son helped me and he said he now knew something I could cook all by himself after he moves out. Loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
Awesome quick meal using leftovers. Sprinkled the cheddar cheese on after cooked for 20 minutes, returned to oven approx 5 minutes at 350 F just to melt the cheese...definitely will make again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jodi
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
This was excellent! My DS & SS & I really loved it, my DH liked it (not a fan of mashed potatoes if you can believe that!) but the flavors were so great together. The bottom was quite wet, the ham let out a lot of liquid. I had used 1 can of regular corn and one can of the creamed corn. I also put a layer of leftover shredded cheese over the ham before adding the potatoes, about 1c, I wanted to make sure my DH liked it lol. We didn't broil it though, although I'm sure that would have been a nice touch - we got a late start making this and we were all too eager for supper to wait for it to broil :) Oh and I added minced onion & parsley to the potatoes when I whipped them - yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2010
I made this with green beans instead of corn and added a bit of paprika on the potatos. Came out delicious! Also the recipe didnt indicate whether to broil at low or high setting. I opted for high and was very happy with how it came out. I will make this again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Irish Shepherd’s Pie

See how to make an amazing shepherd’s pie with a special Irish twist.

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

Vegan Shepherd's Pie

Convert a comfort food classic into a tasty meal that's totally vegan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States