Scottish Shepherd's Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2002
Super-easy recipe that kids love and so quick to make! I used instant mashies, but I would suggest making the potatoes a little stiffer so the cassarole isn't too watery. Also, I used 1 can of regular corn and 1 can of creamed corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Photo by Jodi
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
This was excellent! My DS & SS & I really loved it, my DH liked it (not a fan of mashed potatoes if you can believe that!) but the flavors were so great together. The bottom was quite wet, the ham let out a lot of liquid. I had used 1 can of regular corn and one can of the creamed corn. I also put a layer of leftover shredded cheese over the ham before adding the potatoes, about 1c, I wanted to make sure my DH liked it lol. We didn't broil it though, although I'm sure that would have been a nice touch - we got a late start making this and we were all too eager for supper to wait for it to broil :) Oh and I added minced onion & parsley to the potatoes when I whipped them - yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2010
I made this with green beans instead of corn and added a bit of paprika on the potatos. Came out delicious! Also the recipe didnt indicate whether to broil at low or high setting. I opted for high and was very happy with how it came out. I will make this again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2003
This is such a wonderful casserole that is easy as can be! I had lots of leftover mashed potatoes and ham from Christmas Eve dinner and didn't know what to do with it. I did a search on here for a recipe with both of those things and this was the only one that came up so I tried it. It took 5 minutes to prepare with my leftovers and the creamed corn. I added a handful of frozen corn to it to firm it up a bit, and added salt and pepper, crushed crackers, and a handful of frozen cheddar cheese to the top. My 1 and 4 year olds love it, and so do I! We were really getting sick of the same old breakfast and noodle casseroles to use up the ham leftovers and this was a refreshing alternative. Since my potatoes were cold, straight from the fridge, and because I wanted the cheese/cracker top to get crisp I increased the backing time to 45 minutes and it was perfect. I also wasn't sure about the amounts of everything (since I used leftovers) so I just guessed and the amounts are great. The ham/potatoe/corn flavors together are delicious. I plan on freezing the rest of my leftover ham so I can make this whenever I want!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2007
topped with a bit of cheese made this divine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
Awesome quick meal using leftovers. Sprinkled the cheddar cheese on after cooked for 20 minutes, returned to oven approx 5 minutes at 350 F just to melt the cheese...definitely will make again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
This was great! The family was getting really tired of ham sandwiches so I was looking for a simple recipe I could make quickly. My teenage son helped me and he said he now knew something I could cook all by himself after he moves out. Loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
Excellent. Very quick and easy. My husband loved it. I always look for easy quick meals to make during the week since we both work. This was both filling and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
This is such a great "starter" recipe. I was looking for a recipe for my leftover ham and found this. I didn't have creamed corn so i used regular (drained) corn mixed with cream of potato soup. (I contemplated cream o onion or cream o potato, but potato worked great) Then I added a dollup of sour cream to the mashed potatoes. Also some seasoned salt and pepper. It turned out great. I served it with shredded cheddar cheese. I halved the recipe. My husband and I both went back for seconds. No leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lainey Dru

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Albion, Indiana, USA
Living In: Muncie, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
I followed Stephkow's idea: Add 1 egg + 1 (small) box of Jiffy Cornbread Mix and it lasted my family of 3 for 3 days. I did not add frozen peas but if you like them that is a good idea. I stored this in a covered caseorole dish (inside a Xtra large Ziploc. Made for easy clean up).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maureen

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Irish Shepherd’s Pie

See how to make an amazing shepherd’s pie with a special Irish twist.

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

Vegan Shepherd's Pie

Convert a comfort food classic into a tasty meal that's totally vegan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States