Scottish Shepherd's Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2002
Super-easy recipe that kids love and so quick to make! I used instant mashies, but I would suggest making the potatoes a little stiffer so the cassarole isn't too watery. Also, I used 1 can of regular corn and 1 can of creamed corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2003
This is such a wonderful casserole that is easy as can be! I had lots of leftover mashed potatoes and ham from Christmas Eve dinner and didn't know what to do with it. I did a search on here for a recipe with both of those things and this was the only one that came up so I tried it. It took 5 minutes to prepare with my leftovers and the creamed corn. I added a handful of frozen corn to it to firm it up a bit, and added salt and pepper, crushed crackers, and a handful of frozen cheddar cheese to the top. My 1 and 4 year olds love it, and so do I! We were really getting sick of the same old breakfast and noodle casseroles to use up the ham leftovers and this was a refreshing alternative. Since my potatoes were cold, straight from the fridge, and because I wanted the cheese/cracker top to get crisp I increased the backing time to 45 minutes and it was perfect. I also wasn't sure about the amounts of everything (since I used leftovers) so I just guessed and the amounts are great. The ham/potatoe/corn flavors together are delicious. I plan on freezing the rest of my leftover ham so I can make this whenever I want!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2005
Kinda sweet but good.. Kids should love it. Very easy. Lose a star because it is watery, (Even when you hand mash the potatoes)and boring. It seems like it is missing something...more veggies.. and a crust of some sort (perhaps biscuit)... I guess that's the difference between Scottish and regular shephards pie? Otherwise great way to get rid of leftover Holiday Ham
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2005
This is a great concept dish, but definitely needed some tweaking. I added 1 egg and a box of Jiffy Corn Muffin Mix along with 2 cups of frozen peas. It was perfect! Next time I might add some lowfat sour cream to the potatoes to give it a little more flavor, but otherwise I will be sure to make this dish again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2005
Super easy comfort food. I took another reviews suggestion and used 1 can of corn and 1 can of creamed corn. Still was "watery" I also used instant garlic mashed potatoes. This ONLY gets a four because I need recipes to use up left over ham after holiday meals. Otherwise this was just okay, nothing to brag about.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2007
topped with a bit of cheese made this divine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
This is such a great "starter" recipe. I was looking for a recipe for my leftover ham and found this. I didn't have creamed corn so i used regular (drained) corn mixed with cream of potato soup. (I contemplated cream o onion or cream o potato, but potato worked great) Then I added a dollup of sour cream to the mashed potatoes. Also some seasoned salt and pepper. It turned out great. I served it with shredded cheddar cheese. I halved the recipe. My husband and I both went back for seconds. No leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lainey Dru

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Albion, Indiana, USA
Living In: Muncie, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2008
I'm sure this is a tasty dish, but it isn't Shepherd's Pie, which is made with minced lamb or mutton.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mold, Flintshire, Wales, U.K.
Living In: Norwich, Norfolk, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2008
I was born and raised in Scotland and have never heard of a shepherd's pie made with ham and corn, so I don't know how this title came about! I tried the recipe anyway thinking it would be quick and easy but it was so watery and sweet flavored I won't be adding it to my recipe box unfortunately.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
I loved this recipe. My son is a picky eater and he had seconds. real easy to make. I did add some cheese on top. It was great,thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Amherst, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Irish Shepherd’s Pie

See how to make an amazing shepherd’s pie with a special Irish twist.

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

Vegan Shepherd's Pie

Convert a comfort food classic into a tasty meal that's totally vegan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States