Scottish Oat Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
I thought these were simply delicious, as did my 20+ shower guests that helped devour these scones. This recipe is for sure a keeper, and a great base recipe to test out all your different scone ideas! Highly recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
I found this to be a simple good tasting starter recipe. The texture was great and they were so easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2008
Not bad at all. Quite good with butter and jam. I followed the suggestions to soak the oats in a bit of milk and add cinnamon and nutmeg. I used a spoon to brush the tops of the 2nd batch with honey and let them sit overnight. This was very good the next morning with hot tea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chocolate_frenzie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2008
Great recipe! No currants... decided to experiment with 4 different add-ins: cinnamon, cinnamon-honey, cranberry, dark chocolate chip. The only one people were slow to eat was cinnamon (too plain??). They were great the day after I made them. --Slight modifications: used half whole wheat flour and evaporated milk because I had it on hand. Will make again!! The oats are great! **If you mix in honey, they will spread more when baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FNChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2008
very simple and quick to make. I love cranberries so I substituted them. Not too sweet, just like my husband likes them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2008
These were absolutely delicious. The only reason they get a four is because of the modifications that I had to make. I followed some of the other reviewers suggestions and added 1 tsp of cinnamon, 1/2 tsp of nutmeg, and sugar on the top. they came out perfectly. I will definitely make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2008
My mother made something like this as a special treat for breakfast. We'd take out all the jams and spreads out of the fridge and had a buffet of possibilities. I think next time I will cut back on the baking soda, I thought 4tsp was too much, and I did taste it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tyler Lupton

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2008
Great recipe! The scones taste as buttery and crumbly as the ones that are basically made of butter. I halved the recipe and used a 2:1 ratio of Whole Wheat Pastry Flour to All Purpose Flour, and I used Fat Free Milk. I did use all real butter though, and sprinkled some cinnamon sugar on top of them before baking. They turned out delicious, reheat well, and are perfect with a thin layer of jam on top. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2008
I always make this recipe completely with applesauce (no butter at all), brown sugar, dried blueberries, lemon zest, and dried cranberries. They're delicious and pretty healthy, too - 100 calories each (unless I add dark chocolate) and almost no fat. I also took one user's suggestion of soaking the oats in milk and the scones are always moist. They aren't the best scones I've ever had, but the recipe gets 5 stars anyway for being so easy to change. I like eating these by themselves for breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverside, California, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2008
These are delicious! I used buttermilk instead of milk and they came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ivybaker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 218) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States