Scottish Oat Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2006
Thought this was a very average recipe. While good, I would not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2006
I'm giving this recipe 4 stars because it tasted good, but it didn't taste like scones. It didn't have that flakey sconey texture, probably because the butter is melted instead of being cut in. Tasty breakfast item - yes. Scone - no.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2006
Very good. I did however add 1/4 cup orange juice to the mixture, and some vanilla extract. They came out wonderful and moist. My friends loved them. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oceanside, California, USA
Living In: Laughlin A F B, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2006
These are great, hearty scones. I agree that they are a bit dry, but a cup of tea takes care of that. I made them with half all-purpose flour and half whole-wheat flour, turbinado sugar, half butter and half apple sauce, and raisins. I also topped them with the maple butter frosting from this site and they were a nice addition to my rainy morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portsmouth, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2006
I cook these a little less time than it calls for and put maple butter frosting on the top after they cool. My family and friends are always asking for more and i have even had people i dont know ask for the recipie that they have heard about!! delicous
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KAH
Photo by Nana Sidek
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2006
I made 2 batch of this recipe. One I batch add craisins and the other batch I add chocolate rice and both were awesome. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nana Sidek

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jurong West, West Region, Singapore

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2006
These were SO good! I increased the sugar to 1/2 cup, used snipped raisins instead of currants, and added 1/2 tsp of cinnamon. I also used heavy whipping cream instead of milk, and they turned out AMAZING! I didn't have any problems with them being too dry, and the flavor and texture turned out soooo good. Before baking, I also brushed the tops with cream and sprinkled on a little sugar. I'll definitely be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2006
Awesome - I eat one for breakfast almost daily. They dry out very quickly so I now freeze them. While my coffee is brewing I pop one into the microwave for 30 seconds. I used half whole wheat flour and half all purpose flour. Great with jam on top. I chose not to add any currants or raisins as I do not like either - although I think I'll add blueberries the next time. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2006
These were wonderful! I used whole wheat flour and cut the butter down and replaced with applesauce. I froze them on cookie sheets to pop in the oven whenever we have the urge for wonderful scones without wanting to go through the hassle of making them. I added cranberries in one, raisins walnuts and cinnamon in another, and bananas and walnuts in a third. Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reno, Nevada, USA
Living In: Port Orange, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2006
Made this as stated, except used rasins. Dry? YES. Delicious? YES! I'll definitely make it again for the flavor alone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 218) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States