Scottish Oat Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
Loved this recipe! I'm the only one in my family who will eat it, but it freezes well for quick breakfast or afternoon snack!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Henderson, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2006
Wonderful recipe! This was the first time I attempted making scones and I am very pleased. I did not use currants because I did not have any, but I did add cinnamon. The scones are not too sweet...perfect for curling up on a rainy afternoon with a hot cup of tea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashua, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Ithaca, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2006
Very good! I added a little cinnamon and vanilla for extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Oswego, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2006
These scones tasted pretty great. I did add cinnamon and vanilla extract after reading the reviews. Even after cutting in the butter, the scones were NOT flakey, so next time I make them I won't bother doing that and I will melt it as the recipe states. All in all, I enjoyed eating the scone and I put the rest in the freezer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2006
these were just great! i used oat flour (just throw some rolled oats in the blender) in place of the all purpose flour. i also used just 2 tablespoons of butter and the rest was applesauce. i also only added 2 tablespoons of sugar (yellow sugar) instead of 1/4 cup. i added some cinnamon and left out the currents because i didn't have any. my 2 year old and i enjoyed them for breakfast with some all natural peanut butter, some raspberry jam (the jam provides a lot of sweetness) and a mug of tea . thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2006
good, but definitely not scone-like. Also the batter was too dry. Added milk seem to do the trick. So 3 stars for tasty, but they didn't blow me away
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2006
I agree with the other reviewers that these are pretty dry. The dryness isn't bad, but the scones lack the flakey tenderness that I was looking for. As I was eating them, I kept imagining how good they'd be with some garlic, dill, and maybe parmesan. A technical note: I did have to add about 1/4 c more milk just to mix the batter (I know scone batter is supposed to be sticky), and I cut in, rather than melted the butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spearfish, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2006
Amazing recipe. I added a little cinnamon and a few drops of vanilla, and they are incredible. Best scone i have made at home. I am going to make these often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2006
I added raisens/dates. It turned out great and my entire family loved it. Also, yummy with honey on top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by beccamt
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2006
At first I wasn't going to give this a star rating because I made quite a few changes,(whole wheat flour for AP, brown sugar for white, raisins for currants and applesauce for butter, with the addition of a half teaspoon of cinnamon), but then I realized that if I could make that many changes and they could still come out good, it must be a REALLY great recipe. They were just lightly sweet, and had a good, substantial texture from the oats. And my mom loved them, which is always a good sign! Excellent and versatile recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 220) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States