Scottish Oat Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2007
I don't know what went wrong but the scones tasted dry and horrid. The top was browned but the when I took it out of the oven, everything fell into a dry, crumbly mess. My guess was that there was too much oats. Anyhow, I won't be using this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hougang, North-East Region, Singapore

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2007
These are awesome. I make them at least once a week and my wife eats them for breakfast. To make it healthier, I replace all the butter with applesauce and use only whole wheat flour - they are still great this way! I also add chocolate chips=)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Redmond, Washington, USA
Living In: La Jolla, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2007
Not bad. I like the fact that they are healthier than traditional scones because of the oats but mine were a little off. They did not need the full 15 minutes as called for, my mistake, and will try again with "quick oats" as oppossed to regular oats. I think next time I will add some cinnamon or something for a little extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda (LMT)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Photo by Tripodious
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2007
I thought these were really great. Came out perfect at 12 minutes. Only differences in the recipe was a little extra sugar/with cinnamon, about 1/2C milk (dried cranberries instead of currants) and they weren't really crumbly at all, and with a little butter on top I would say an excellent healthier version of a scone. Also I used quick oats and there were no texture problems at all. Will absolutely make these again. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tripodious

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2007
Delicious scones!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2007
Pretty good scones...I combined others' recommendations and added a squeeze of honey, 1 tsp. of vanilla and 1 tsp. of cinnamon and sprinkled a little brown sugar on top. When I halved the dough for the circles, I put chocolate chips in one and dried cranberries in the other. My husband liked them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Novato, California, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2007
I have made these scones a million different times, each time changing them a little bit (blueberries, raisins, cinnamon and pumpkin spice, etc.) and they always turn out great. They taste just as good the second day because they dry out a bit and taste more "scone" like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2007
These were so good, I make them all the time now. They don't take very long to prepare, and they aren't overly sweet, which is great. Sometimes I even cut out a little of the sugar. Also, I use dried cranberries because currants are so expensive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHEFFY4

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2007
This recipe is so easy & simple. The only change I made was that I sprinkled white suger on top of them before baking. When they were finished cooking I added some honey and butter, Wow! Really great recipe, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Metamora, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2007
Very tasty, with a nice texture. I didn't have any dried fruit, but it didn't hurt it; spreading honey or jam makes up for it quite well. I'm thinking these could be good with cinnamon, too, but that will be for another day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 218) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States