Scottish Oat Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
I really like this recipe, I added blueberries, walnuts and golden raisins, used whole white wheat and used 1/2 c of 1% milk. I really like that the butter is melted and not cut-in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
I tried it twice once according to the recipe, and once changed up a bit. Both were good. The original recipe is just a tad bit dry and slightly heavy. I like them that way. So if you don't like that I'd look for a different recipe. I tried it with whole wheat and they where dryer so I should have compensated for that, my falt. However they where what I was looking for not too sweet not too cake like. Heavy, slightly sweet. Yummy. The way I'd expect a scone to be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shari

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stevensville, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2013
A really good basic recipe. Not too sweet, nice density, love the oats in it. Good as is, but options for add-ins are endless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2013
Not wonderful. I wouldn't recommend this recipe. I don't like to give a negative review, but in all fairness to those who read reviews to judge whether or not to try a new recipe, I would advise you to move on to another of the wonderful scone recipes on this site. Very disappointed in this one and I'm a very experienced cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
Made this for breakfast for my four children and myself. I substituted whole spelt four for white, honey for sugar, and dried cranberries for currants. I placed the rounds on parchment on a baking stone in the oven. It was a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca Jakubowski Matteson

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lowville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
I followed the recipe as written. They were a hit with my family. I feel that they are a cross between a scone and a biscotti. Great with milk or coffee
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
WOW. This recipe is so amazing and easy. I'm not really a baking person but this was so easy. As others mentioned,I wanted it to be moist and chewy so I used 2 cups of flour instead of 1.5 and 1.5 cups of oats. I added little more milk and a tablespoon of maple syrup. It was so moist and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2012
Easy and quick to put together. Nice and sweet but not too sweet. On the cakey side but they are still very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
Surprisingly easy. A little dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
My boyfriend and I were licking our chops after these! Word to the wise - when adding the butter to the egg/milk mixture, be sure to let it cool a bit. You don't want the egg to start cookin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 218) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States