Scottish Mince Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2008
This was very tasty. I did add a teaspoon or so of BBQ sauce and also some Parissiene Essence to give it a nice rich brown colour. A definite cook again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janzjewelz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Caerphilly, Glamorgan, Wales, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
I made this with venison and it was to die for! Don't be intimidated by meat pies, they are a hearthy and easy dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missyoumuch

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2008
I make this for my husband all the time...he loves it. I use the traditional OXO stock cubes instead of the Bisto, less salty! Not quite the real thing..but good none the less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
This is the sort of tasty recipe my mum would make. I would add to the reviewer, who promoted mashed potato and no pastry for the mince, that we're talking about 2 different dishes here. My mum used to make mince and tatties with either mashed (champed) or boiled potatoes. Mashed was favourite as it soaked up the gravy better. Sometimes, according to season and what our back garden had to offer, the mince had green peas in it, or carrots, or baby turnips, or parsnips. Mince pies could be with top crust only, or top and bottom and we had with mashed or boiled or new potatoes. We used to get really flavoursome family steak pies (or with kidney too) with puff-pastry top from the local butcher. Very tasty ! Nowadays I live and work in an Arab country where such dishes are non-existent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2007
This is a great recipe and was so easy to follow. I threw in some frozen peas and fresh chopped carrots before pouring the mince mix into the crust. I served this at a Sunday family dinner and everyone absolutely raved about it. I even made an extra one and froze it for a quick weekday meal. SO GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2007
My husband is from New Zealand and I have been looking for a recipe to render his cravings....it worked! I wish I could find the smaller pie crusts, but it was good in the big pie. Do not add any extra salt! There really isnt a need for it:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megan C

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2006
A nice meal. We added a layer of mashed potatoes before covering with the top pastry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2006
nice nice!! Im from new zealand and I miss my mince pies!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2006
My family really liked this pie. I grew up with my mom making Scottish mince but she served it over mashed potatoes or noodles. I did do one thing different--I browned the ground beef (I thought it would be quicker) and then rinsed it in hot water to remove the grease and then followed the rest of the recipe. Thanks for this easy and tasty dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Royal Oak, Michigan, USA
Living In: Troy, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2005
I made it this morning, and it was really fun to make. It looked very impressive when it was finished. We as dutchies are not really used to eating pies, so when i'll serve it to my housemates later they will be suprised. I nibbled a bit of it and i like it, though it is a bit bland
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hcorianne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woudenberg, Utrecht, Netherlands
Living In: Ede, Gelderland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Beef Pot Pie III

See how to make a simple pot pie with beef and all the veggies.

Irish Shepherd’s Pie

See how to make an amazing shepherd’s pie with a special Irish twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States