Scottish Mince Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2001
This recipe has been a hit every single time I have served it. So much so, in fact people have told me I should market it!! It is definitely a GREAT alternative to regular meat pie. Thank you for the wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2010
it was good but is it better to bake the crust before the meat is put in or to not
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2006
My family really liked this pie. I grew up with my mom making Scottish mince but she served it over mashed potatoes or noodles. I did do one thing different--I browned the ground beef (I thought it would be quicker) and then rinsed it in hot water to remove the grease and then followed the rest of the recipe. Thanks for this easy and tasty dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Royal Oak, Michigan, USA
Living In: Troy, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2001
We loved this version of a popular meal. I used Bisto (tm) instead of beef boulion cubes or powder. Made a nice thick gravy. Will use this recipe over and over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2004
Delicious! I did make some alterations to the dish to suit my tastes. I substituted the onion for a couple cloves of garlic. I added a tablespoon worcestershire sauce to the meat mixture. And I topped it with mashed potatoes opposed to a pie crust. It was definitely a crowd pleaser!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2008
Great recipe, tastes very like the mince pie my mum used to make for us as kids. Added some diced carrot and some peas, will add this to my repertoire as the kids ate every last bit of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2007
This is a great recipe and was so easy to follow. I threw in some frozen peas and fresh chopped carrots before pouring the mince mix into the crust. I served this at a Sunday family dinner and everyone absolutely raved about it. I even made an extra one and froze it for a quick weekday meal. SO GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
This is the sort of tasty recipe my mum would make. I would add to the reviewer, who promoted mashed potato and no pastry for the mince, that we're talking about 2 different dishes here. My mum used to make mince and tatties with either mashed (champed) or boiled potatoes. Mashed was favourite as it soaked up the gravy better. Sometimes, according to season and what our back garden had to offer, the mince had green peas in it, or carrots, or baby turnips, or parsnips. Mince pies could be with top crust only, or top and bottom and we had with mashed or boiled or new potatoes. We used to get really flavoursome family steak pies (or with kidney too) with puff-pastry top from the local butcher. Very tasty ! Nowadays I live and work in an Arab country where such dishes are non-existent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2008
I make this for my husband all the time...he loves it. I use the traditional OXO stock cubes instead of the Bisto, less salty! Not quite the real thing..but good none the less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
I made this with venison and it was to die for! Don't be intimidated by meat pies, they are a hearthy and easy dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missyoumuch

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Beef Pot Pie III

See how to make a simple pot pie with beef and all the veggies.

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States