Scottish Mince Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2004
My husband moved here to the US from Scotland 2+ years ago. Besides Indian food, he misses his traditional scottish dishes so I was very excited to try this recipe. He loved it but reminded me that this would actually be served with mashed potatoes and called "mince and taties" and not served as a pie. The gravy in a real scottish mince meat pie is less beefy, more peppery with a thicker consistency and looks somewhere between clear and grey not brown. Still, this hit the mark as "mince" and I think I'll serve the leftovers with some mashed potatoes! I would caution against adding salt. The boullions have enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deanne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Westminster, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2001
We loved this version of a popular meal. I used Bisto (tm) instead of beef boulion cubes or powder. Made a nice thick gravy. Will use this recipe over and over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2004
Delicious! I did make some alterations to the dish to suit my tastes. I substituted the onion for a couple cloves of garlic. I added a tablespoon worcestershire sauce to the meat mixture. And I topped it with mashed potatoes opposed to a pie crust. It was definitely a crowd pleaser!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
it was 4 because i ended up adding things to my taste which for us made it a 6! the things we added were, boiling the meat in beer instead of water and keeping it in instead of draining and then adding more water (which i understand for those of you who want to be healthy). i also added a splash of worcestershire, and sliced mushrooms. and to finish it off i added a little grated sharp cheddar before putting the pastry top on the pie. made it a bit more like the pies i had in england (don't know about scotland). turned out fantastic!!! a new fave in the family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2006
My family really liked this pie. I grew up with my mom making Scottish mince but she served it over mashed potatoes or noodles. I did do one thing different--I browned the ground beef (I thought it would be quicker) and then rinsed it in hot water to remove the grease and then followed the rest of the recipe. Thanks for this easy and tasty dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Royal Oak, Michigan, USA
Living In: Troy, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2010
it was good but is it better to bake the crust before the meat is put in or to not
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2001
This recipe has been a hit every single time I have served it. So much so, in fact people have told me I should market it!! It is definitely a GREAT alternative to regular meat pie. Thank you for the wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
My grandmother cooked this quite a bit for us when I was growing up. Basically the same recipe but not as a pie. Quarter cut potatoes were instead boiled with the mince. Bovril was Granny's boullion of choice which did make a slightly thicker, meatier tasting gravy. Wish I liked the tripe soup she made as much as I liked her mince and tatties. :>)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2007
My husband is from New Zealand and I have been looking for a recipe to render his cravings....it worked! I wish I could find the smaller pie crusts, but it was good in the big pie. Do not add any extra salt! There really isnt a need for it:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megan C

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2008
Great recipe, tastes very like the mince pie my mum used to make for us as kids. Added some diced carrot and some peas, will add this to my repertoire as the kids ate every last bit of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Beef Pot Pie III

See how to make a simple pot pie with beef and all the veggies.

Irish Shepherd’s Pie

See how to make an amazing shepherd’s pie with a special Irish twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States