Scottish Butter Tablet Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
The first two times I tried this recipe, it would NOT set! I read the reviews, and tried re-boiling my second batch, and, once it reached a rich caramel color (think toffee apple!), I beat it with my electric hand mixer until the mixture lost its gloss **Do not try to "feel" for grit with a spoon or worse, a finger. Once the mixture has lost its gloss completely, it's gritty.** On my third try (once I was able to recognize what it SHOULD look like) I made successful fudge!!! I can't wait to give this as gifts for Christmas :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ajax, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
Loved it just made it exactly like the recipe and turned out perfect. I will make again and again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
This recipe is DELICIOUS. It's super easy to make, too, but i changed the ingredient amounts (decreased the sugar)...still tastes delicious. Yummy to smell when it's cooking, too
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
After reading the reviews, I decided to make half the recipe just in case I was unsuccessful. I eliminated the salt and vanilla (personal preference). I boiled the mixture vigorously on med heat for 2-3 minutes before reducing the heat to low and continued to cook for about 25 minutes. At that point, the mixture thickened and became a nice tan color. Off the heat, I beat it with a wooden spoon until it cooled and was the consistency of thick batter. I cut the tablet this morning and it came out great! I will present it to my best friend from Scotland to get the real verdict, but I am sure he will be pleased, as this is much better than the packaged stuff I brought back for him from Scotland. Either way, I consider this a great success!!! Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
Im Puerto Rican, and This is very close to the Dulce De Leche I grew up eating, & taste like the ones we buy in bodegas... Came out perfect , set up perfectly...I cut the recipe in half and also added a tablespoon of Trimoline which is an Invert Sugar.. Not readily available I happen to keep it on hand because I'm a pastry chef... You can use Light Corn Syrup instead this prevents crystallization , acts as a preservative and gives a better mouth feel to the tablet.... It also adds to the caramelization ... Which will bring your temperature higher thus cooking faster so use it and you won't have the issues other reviewers are having getting up to temperature I reached the temperature in 16 minutes It makes a big difference... Use 2 tablespoons of invert sugar for the full recipe .... I also used my hand mixer & beat it for 3 min to cool off ... I was done making this in less than 30 min ..... It set up perfectly ..... Only suggestion is less butter to taste more like dulce de Leche. Hope this review helps others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
Having made this recipe a few times, I've finally figured out the best way to make this... ADD 2T LIGHT CORN SYRUP. I've compared this recipe to similar SBT recipes and i think adding in the corn syrup is key to preventing sugar crystalization. Here's what i do: in a 5qt pot add all the ingredients + 2T corn syrup and set to medium. Let dissolve/melt together before stirring constantly, around 170 degrees, then start stirring constantly with a wooden spoon. Once it comes to a boil, reduce to medium low heat (as I'm impatient) and constantly stir until closer to 240 degrees. Turn off + remove from heat; instead of beating vigorously by hand, i plugged in my hand mixer and beat on low for 3min (temperature wise it was around 210 after 3min.) With my foil lined with Pam sheet pan, I poured the whole mixture + scrapped the sides. The mixture setup perfectly and had a smoother texture...vs the gritty texture I've experienced in the past. So delicious... Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pleasanton, California, USA
Living In: Danville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
Absolutely delicious! A good friend of mine from Scotland brought some of her mom's tablet back to the US, and this is totally on par with her mom's. I didn't have a candy thermometer, so I just cooked the mixture for 40 minutes while stirring with a wooden spoon. Then I cooled the mixture while stirring with a whisk for 5 minutes. I didn't wait until the mixture began to feel grainy. I just stopped whisking once it reached the consistency of brownie batter. It set perfectly and has a smooth, glossy finish and a knife literally glides through the firm tablet just like butter. The texture is smooth and velvety, and absolutely to die for! I used whole milk, as I didn't have cream. I also didn't have unsalted butter, so I used regular, lightly salted butter and omitted the salt in the recipe. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ERINUNC

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
A good Tablet recipe. That's a bit more milk that I would use, but it just means boiling it a bit longer. I'd suggest 1/2 to 3/4 of a cup of milk--just enough to "damp" the sugar before adding the other ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2009
I made this following the recipe; except I didn't have a candy thermometer so I took a guess and boiled and stirred for about 25 minutes. It didn't work! By the next day it had still not set up, so I scraped it all back into the pot, added a shot of maple syrup, about 1/4 cup, ( I figured I had nothing to lose) and boiled again for about 20 minutes. It turned out fantastic! I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by veedubjaydub

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2009
Great taste o Scotland. Boil a little longer though and use a 'spurtle' to mix 'like a wooden spoon without the spoon end' or use the Handle of the spoon. Don't use a metal whisk. P.S Dont eat too much you will get sick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steve Clark

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ashford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Easiest Peanut Butter Fudge

This fudge is sinfully rich but a snap to make.

How to Clarify Butter

See a simple process that lets butter withstand higher heat.

Peanut Butter Brownie Bites

See how to make delicious brownie bites with rich chocolate and peanut butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States