Scottish Bubbles and Squeak Patties Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
This was a very good recipe, simple and fun to make, my husband loved them! Which is good because there are only two of us and we had lots of leftovers :) Already recommended them to my sister in law.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
My sister and I followed the recipe, but the patties were so flimsy that we couldn't even flip them! So we just left the mix alone and ate it uncooked... it was good then, which is the only reason this gets two stars instead of one... :/
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
I read some of the reviews and here are the changes that I made: I boiled the potatoes in vegetable broth, then when mashing I added salt & pepper to taste, a pad of butter, and the cheese while the potatoes were hot. This kept the patties together nicely. I used a salad spinner to drain the cabbage & carrot mix, used less than a full onion and served with sour cream. Great recipe, simple to make, will make over & over again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
Excellent. I used bagged coleslaw mix and it made it so much easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenbeth

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
VERY yummy! The kids and hubby have decided this is to be a weekly "treat"! I used coleslaw mix, though and these were great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
Well, they taste really good....but they FALL APART when you're grilling them. I cannot get them to remain a Pattie during the grilling process to save my life!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chatsworth, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
Very tasty! Used instant garlic flavored mashed potatoes and the whole family gobbled them up. Added some extra minced garlic and a little seasoning salt to kick it up
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mam5016

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Millersburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
Wow! These were great! I used a hot mustard in this and used a regular nonstick pan to cook them in. Mine browned up nicely in about 4 minutes on each side. They were a little hard to keep together but it worked out okay in the end. Thanks Sanzoe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
I essentially doubled the recipe, but because I was short on time I left it in a mashed potato state with the addition of a little margarine and milk. I used a coleslaw that contained carrots instead of just the cabbage and carrot separately. I cooked down the coleslaw mix & onions (added fresh garlic, would use more next time) before adding to the potatoes. I used a mild cheddar and Dijon mustard instead. Tasty, I'm sure as patties they would have been great but the first few I tried were taking far too long to brown and the rest of dinner (sausages and salad) were ready, and the guests were too hungry to wait lol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
This recipe is unique and very tasty. I cooked the onion with the cabbage & carrot so everything was cooked before browning in the pan. To brown the patties, I melted a minimal amount of butter then just plopped a large spatula full onto the butter in the pan, then formed it into a patty with a fork. There is plenty of time to form these initially, and as you flip them, you will need to form them back into shape again...you are essentially trying to brown a mashed potato patty. The patties took a while to brown, but the end result looked nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKIN4MYFAMILY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Conifer, Colorado, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lamb Merguez Sausage Patties

See how to make a spicy, super-flavorful lamb burger.

Oregon Salmon Patties

See how to make simple cracker crumb-breaded salmon patties.

Chef John's Breakfast Sausage Patties

The best way to wake up! See how to make simple homemade breakfast sausage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States