Scottie's Chicken Tortilla Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
I adjusted to what I had. Used homemade chicken stock (6 cups) and 2 cans of tomatoes with chiles. Added garlic powder and onion powder to taste, along with chili powder to taste. Omitted the bullion cube, broccoli (used it the night before), tequila (drank it all while cooking!!!). cayenne and cajun seasoning. Mine got too spicy from just using the canned tomatoes with chiles so I added some sugar to cut the heat. Served with corn tortilla chips to crush, avocado, scallions, cilantro, limes, hot sauce, shredded cabbage, radishes, shredded cheese and sour cream so each could make their own to taste. The kids loved it with cheese, avocado and cabbage, us adults added EVERYTHING under the sun! It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Arizona Desert Flower

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
This soup was excellent. I used less chicken stock and added 14 oz. can of tomatoes with green chiles then put the tomatoes in the blender. I will absolutely make this soup again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
This was delicious. We all had seconds. Used the bag tortillas. I accidently bought creamed corn so used that. It added more texture. I also used "Chili Makin's" pinto beans which had the chili sauce and seasoning so only had to adjust seasoning to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
really good never had before because I'm not a fan of corn tortilla's but this get's a five star
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
Easy and tastes great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly Lynn Forbes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
This is so simple and delicious, but I did use some leftover roasted chicken and low sod chicken stock. You can add some cumin for a little kick, and maybe some cilantro. The market roasted chicken is so flavorful , no need to add salt. Top with some avocado chunks and you're all set.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by googirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
Fantastic recipe! Will make again! 1 teaspoon cayenne pepper was plenty for this gal. Other than that, a very fine recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Traci-in-Cali
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
We've tried a few "Chicken Tortilla Soups' on AR and this was really good! I didn't have brocoli so I added a can of green beans! I put in about 1/2 cup of salsa for more spice cuz that's the way we like it!.. I don't know that I loved the green beans, but since they weren't part of the actual recipe I'll consider it my mistake! A close runner up to my favorite which is "Chicken Enchilada Soup" Thanks! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci-in-Cali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
It was excellent!!! I did use some red pepper flakes for added heat, and just used regular tortilla chips to save time. For additional greens, I served it over a bed of fresh spinach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

Chicken Tortilla Soup V

Chili powder and salsa give this 5-star tortilla soup just the right kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States