Scott Hibb's Amazing Whisky Grilled Baby Back Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2006
(Original review, Jan, 2006)My review is 5 stars for the sauce, which I made exactly as written minus the liquid smoke, which I didn't have and generally don't like. I used Jameson's Irish Whiskey. This sauce is awesome! We'll use it again and again. I used the sauce on the ribs I cooked following the Prize Winning Baby Back ribs recipe on this site. I followed those cooking instructions and used the dry rub from that recipe, as well. I used this sauce at the end where it calls for using your "favorite bbq sauce." Hands-down, this is our favorite sauce recipe. Can't wait to try it on my husband's grilled whole chicken breasts! Update 2/4/07 *Superbowl* This is *still* our favorite sauce. I always double the recipe. One new tip: I use a mini food processor to mince the onions, but you still get small pieces in the sauce. It's great that way, but this time, after fully cooking the sauce, I let it cool and blended it in a regular blender. Awesome smooth texture, terrific flavor! Now we have two options for this wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
381 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2008
THESE WERE AMAZING!!!! I goofed up.. I didn't have any whisky so I just omitted that, I found out at the last min that I didn't have any tomato paste so I used ketchup instead.. since ketchup is not as thick as tomato paste I used less water, 1 cup. I also used a real onion, 2 garlic cloves & chili powder instead of chile pepper since I always have that on hand. Other than that everything else I did exactly to the recipe. I also had to cook the sauce alittle longer since it started out watery but I'm telling you it turned out PERFECT! I was surprised at how easy these were to make, the prep was not that hard or that long, than I just let everything cook for 2 hours while I cleaned. When ready I gave everything to hubby to grill. He just had to grill the ribs for about 10 mins, he used half the sauce for coating the ribs while grilling & when they were done cooking he used the rest of the sauce to put on the ribs so they are very sticky & dripping w/ sauce. This was the first time I've ever made ribs and they were INCREDIBLE! ****UPDATE**** I make this every few weeks now. I use boneless pork ribs b/c you get more meat, I double the recipe for extra sauce & I did try to make it exactly how it's written & it's also incredible that way but since I don't normally have whisky or tomato paste I stick to the way I made it the first time. I show off & make this for company & so far EVERYONE is Blown away by these ribs. I've given out this recipe a number of times! Thanks Scott!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
273 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GingerB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2006
Finger-linkin' delicious. I cut back on the red chile peppers since I'm a wimp and it was still pretty spicy. I substituted real onions and garlic instead of the powder and used kosher salt instead of table salt. I also doubled the recipe but next time I will use less water so it doesn't take so long to reduce. Instead of grilling, I added sauce to ribs after 2 hours and backed in oven for another half hour. My husband said this recipe beat all others hands down...and he's the chef in the family
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
206 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2002
This is one of the best sauces I have ever made. To anyone who knows ribs, this is one of the best barbeque recipes you can get, hands down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2002
Sure this recipe takes a while, but it is perfect for a Saturday afternoon cooking while being outside in my garden. The sauce is excellent and I did use 1/4cup of Whisky and added 10 cloves of crushed garlic, we love garlic! We have used this on chicken and pork also, remember this sauce freezes well. Very impressive recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2003
These were the BEST ribs I have ever made. The sauce was very tasty, although it took much longer than 1 1/4 hours to reduce. Great recipe, and one that I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2005
Unbelievable!! I made ribs for 8 people and everyone ranted and raved the whole dinner - hands down the best ribs we had ever eaten in our entire lives. WOW.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2003
The zippy taste was refreshingly different than that overly sweet and sticky chain restaurant taste everyone assumes baby back ribs should be! Rib meat fell off the bone with every bite. A big hit at the Labor Day BBQ!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2003
Outstanding! This was my first attempt at making both ribs and barbecue sauce. They were both terrific. I cut the liquid smoke down to 1/4 tsp. The amount called for did seem like way too much. I will use this sauce (maybe a little less sweet) on other grilled meats. Thank you, Scott, for an easy and spectacular recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2002
These were great. I didn't put in any liquid smoke because I didn't have any on hand. Next time I make these I'll add it to see how great the difference is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KIK_IT2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Martinsville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Roseau, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 840) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Scott's Amazing Whiskey Grilled Baby Back Ribs

Discover the secret to impossibly tender, fall-off-the-bone BBQ ribs.

How to Make Baked BBQ Baby Back Ribs

See how easy it is to make 5-star ribs in the oven.

Prize Winning Baby Back Ribs

Spice-rubbed ribs get the slow-cooking treatment over indirect heat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States