Scotcharoos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
Love these. Use a little less cereal if you want them gooey-er! Easiest way to make the frosting is to heat your oven to warm while making the bars. Then just sprinkle the chocolate and butterschotch chips on top of the bars and slide them into the oven and turn it off. After about 10-15 minutes remove from the oven and swirl the chips with the back of a spoon to mix and spread evenly over the bars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
Love love love!!! perfect couldnt ask for a better treat. IF there to hard for you, its because you boiled you sugar mixture to long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cmgisch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Laurens, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
This is an AWESOMELY EVIL recipe. Just try and have some self-control when they're around. Three important changes. First, I never bring the peanut butter mixture to a boil (just heat until sugar dissolves), to keep the bars from getting too hard. Second, I double the topping. And third (and most important change), spread the topping on the bars and sprinkle with sea salt. Gotta go make another pan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
Fantastic! I had problems with the chocolate, and they didn't look too pretty, but they disappeared super fast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dr.CMosher
Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
I made these for Christmas goodie bags and they turned out very well. As other reviewers noted, I doubled the chocolate/butterscotch chip coating and it was just the right amount. Also, I cooked the peanut butter/sugar mixture just until it started to bubble and I had just enough time to stir in the cereal before it began to firm up. The description is right! These are a wonderful combo of flavors and textures. Very sweet and tasty. I will definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HNECKONE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
These are delicious! After you add the rice crisp mixture to the pan, to add a little more - pat in some peanut butter chips, then add the melted chocolate mixture - yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
I don't let a Holiday go by without making these! They are a family Favorite!! We never have left-overs either!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Huntington, Indiana, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
Love, love, love these treats! My sons ask me to make these for their birthday treats at school and for the holidays. So glad you posted the recipe to spread the joy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cate

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Martinsburg, Missouri, USA
Living In: Mexico, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
These are tasty, but I found them far too sweet. Will make again but probably increase the amount of peanut butter and reduce the sugar or corn syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Florham Park, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
These turn out perfect every time! The only adjustment I made was to double the butterscotch and triple the chocolate - as written it does not make nearly enough frosting to do the entire pan, even with a thin layer! Very easy, done in 15 minutes flat. I make them in half batches so I don't eat the whole thing myself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Pearson

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Greenleaf, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 225) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Cranberry Hootycreeks

Give cranberry hootycreeks as a memorable gift of "cookies in a jar."

Cookies Across America

See how you and your friends can decorate cookies for a good cause.

World's Best Peanut Fudge

See how to make a rich-and-creamy peanut butter fudge.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States