Scotcharoos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2012
my mom made these all the time growing up. they are amazing! i'm pretty sure her's had double the chocolate/butterscotch topping, though. and we kept them in the fridge!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
Wow, these are yummy! I honestly didn't think I would like these as much as I did (and wasn't very happy to find out I did since I'm on a diet..lol). I'd seen them at potlucks over the years but never tried them since butterscotch has never really tripped my trigger. Guess I've been missing out! I sprinkled some multi-colored sprinkles on top to give them a little color since they are a little blah looking. Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Holiday Baker
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
I had never heard of a scotcharoo, and made it because it was a recipe for the Allrecipes Allstars group. It was as easy as making a rice crispy treat. It actually somewhat reminded me of a caramel rice crispy. However, strangely, it mostly tasted like a whatchamacallit candy bar. Edit Note: don't get impatient and stick it in the fridge, at any time, like I did. I was able to pluck it out of the pan finally, but then had to use my largest and sharpest knife in the house to cut it into squares. They got really hard. I hope I didn't ruin them. Let them sit at room temperature. It will take some time, but the chocolate will harden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Photo by sanzoe
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
As written a 3. I made these twice, the first time they were hard as a rock. I then modified adding some butter to the mix and they were nice and chewy. With the changes I would rate them a 4. We liked them but have used other versions we like better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sanzoe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Excelsior, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
The stovetop method is origanally how I made these bars but now I just stir the corn syrup and sugar together and put in microwave for 2 mins. Stir in the peanut butter and microwave for 2 mins more. Remove and add rice cereal. They never have come out hard this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
Great! I grew up on these. Today they are one of my childrens favorites. Everyone seems to love these. They have so much flavor (not just plain sugary sweet) compared to the regular rice cereal treats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy Cooks
Living In: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Photo by Kim_C
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
These were great! I made them as written except I added 1/4 cup butter like some others. I took half to work cut into small pieces due to many are dieting but they were gone in 3 hours and my daughter loved them. Making more again next week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carmel, Indiana, USA
Photo by mickdee
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
It doesn't get any better than a crispy chocolate, peanut butter combination! Easy and fun!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mickdee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by MN Nice
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
These are really good. My only change to the recipe was to reduce the peanut butter to 1 cup. My husband's coworkers enjoyed them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MN Nice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Biwabik, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Virginia, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
This is a family favorite and is always on request from friends and extended family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 231) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry Hootycreeks

Give cranberry hootycreeks as a memorable gift of "cookies in a jar."

Cookies Across America

See how you and your friends can decorate cookies for a good cause.

World's Best Peanut Fudge

See how to make a rich-and-creamy peanut butter fudge.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States